Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
IP900 and vlans
#607647 02/06/17 04:55 PM
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 8
Beeken Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 8
We have tried unsuccessfully to put the ip 900 system in a different vlan. The vlan works, i have put a variety of other devices in it just to ensure there isn't any routing issues or anything like that, but every time we put the system in the vlan only the DSP address shows in a network scan, and we cannot access the web interface, and nothing works. Does anyone have any suggestions of what could be happening?

ESI search for systems, cards, phones!
Re: IP900 and vlans
Beeken #609616 04/08/17 03:45 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 763
SST Offline
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 763
The switch port that the 900 is on has to be a trunked port, meaning all VLANs that the phones are on and the native VLANs of those ports have to be presented to the 900 for broadcasts. So if your tagged phone VLAN is 20 and all native VLANS across the network are 1,2,3,4 and 5 then the 900 needs to be on a switch port that has all VLANS on it, 1,2,3,4,5 and 20. If you still can't talk to the 900 then there is a bigger problem than the setup. Time to call esi.

Last edited by SST; 04/08/17 03:47 AM.
Re: IP900 and vlans
Beeken #614249 11/17/17 08:10 PM
Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 3
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 3
I know this is an old post, but what fixed it for us was leaving one phone on the old vlan and the others on the new one. The new vlans started working and then we switched the other phone to the new vlan.

Re: IP900 and vlans
Beeken #620355 05/26/18 08:08 PM
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 8
Beeken Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 8
Yeah, I've been trying to do this for a year. We have the native untagged vlan for data and another tagged vlan for phones. The switch ports are marked for the untagged vlan and the tagged one. Never once have I been able to make contact with the ip900 after setting it to the tagged vlan. And I'm getting no real help from esi. I am at a loss as of why this isn't wotking.

Re: IP900 and vlans
Beeken #623502 09/13/18 02:01 PM
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 8
Beeken Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 8
We finally got the vlan going . The secret was all of the phone switch ports tagged with the phone vlan and untagged with native vlan. But the ip900 switch port is reversed. Tagged with native vlan and untagged with phone vlan.

Re: IP900 and vlans
Beeken #633221 10/11/19 04:15 AM
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
Beeken,

I know this post is old, but I'm fighting an issue with this on a Cisco 3560. Our phones are on VLAN 10. I did what you said to do, but the phones still keep showing the following:

VER 4.09 z3.2.06
MAC: 00304dxxxxxx
CRC:21E9

We are having no luck, but I can ping the phone system all day on the vlan. The phones do not pick up an IP. Is there a way to get rid of this error correction code and statically assign an IP via a web gui or anything?

Re: IP900 and vlans
JoeyO #633232 10/11/19 02:13 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,387
Admin
*****
Online Thinking
Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,387
Originally Posted by JoeyO
Beeken,

I know this post is old,

Beeken hasn't been on this forum for over a year.


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.trover.com/u/3193463644

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Re: IP900 and vlans
Professor Shadow #633236 10/11/19 03:30 PM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5
I believe the answer is the switch port connected to the IP900 has to be tagged opposite of all the ports that the phones are tagged. So, if you have data 1 and voice 10 then program the vlans for the port to the IP900 to have data 10 and voice 1. I know Beeken and will contact him to add to the conversation. Good luck


Authorized ESI dealer
ESI Comm Servers certified
ESI IP-900 certified
Toshiba Strata DK and CTX certified
Toshiba Stratagy Voice Mail Certified
Toshiba VP100 certified
Oasis (Toshiba) acd certified
Re: IP900 and vlans
JoeyO #633365 10/19/19 03:12 AM
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 8
Beeken Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 8
Do you have the ip900 set to distribute ip address or are you going using an external dhcp server? I don't believe you can set a static IP.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
KXTD816 ringing wrong extension
by ToshiGal75 - 05/25/20 06:02 PM
SV9100 with 10 digit DIDs on SIP
by conxtel - 05/22/20 08:58 PM
SV9100 CP20 Question
by erniejoey - 05/22/20 11:41 AM
Magix positive telco disconnect
by Brian A - 05/21/20 05:54 PM
Nortel CICS 10 call log
by Droptop - 05/21/20 02:35 PM
Who's Online Now
26 members (dude, Curlycord, dexman, ChrisRR, KRRath, phonemeister, RATHER BE FISHING, Touch Tone Tommy, nortelvoip, Bob3470, ToshiGal75, Yoda, pdxjim911, conxtel, morephones, hbiss, jeffmoss26, RonP, Ruben, Professor Shadow, JBean3329, BobRobert, nfcphoneman, metelcom, MooreTel, Carl Navarro), 278 guests, and 39 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums95
Topics93,717
Posts635,849
Members49,286
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Computer Telecom Associates, Don McMorris, Envoy Insurance, jdauph, krust, t-com
Newest Members
nikauri, Darrel Mullins, fleming23, AKP, Oso Rojo
49285 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
Bob-o 14
Ruben 9
hbiss 9
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners