Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
SV8300 have to dial 9 on 911 call
#633776 11/14/19 07:33 PM
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 32
mreilly Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 32
Good morning

Does anyone know how to dial 911 without having to dial a 9 first on SV8300?

AK Greatland

Just another beautiful day in the land of communications

Re: SV8300 have to dial 9 on 911 call
mreilly #633781 11/14/19 10:04 PM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 944
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 944
Couldn't You just put a speed dial button on all the phones with 9911?


"The Only Stupid Question, Is the Question Thats not Asked."
Re: SV8300 have to dial 9 on 911 call
mreilly #633782 11/14/19 10:14 PM
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 32
mreilly Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 32
You could but if someone is unfamiliar with the site and tried to call and was unable to,there could be legal issues

Re: SV8300 have to dial 9 on 911 call
mreilly #633785 11/14/19 10:46 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,913
Administrator
Offline
Administrator
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,913
This is about to be a big issue for all systems thanks to Kari's Law

Re: SV8300 have to dial 9 on 911 call
mreilly #633786 11/14/19 11:09 PM
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 32
mreilly Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 32
I see people talking about putting signs up that state, for emergency call 9-911 but how many languages does it need to be displayed in and does it need to be in Braille as well. definitely going to be an issue if someone dies and they say they could have lived if 911 worked. maybe a little over the top but I can see the headlines now telecom tech arrested because phone system couldnt dial 911

AK Greatland

Just another beautiful day in the land of communications

Re: SV8300 have to dial 9 on 911 call
mreilly #633788 11/14/19 11:54 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,015
Admin
*****
Online Content
Admin
*****
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,015
Certainly the SV8300 supports ARS or LCR. Should be able to invoke a digit manipulation table to insert 9 before 911 calls. I did that for years on Nortels and Comdials.


[Linked Image]
Re: SV8300 have to dial 9 on 911 call
mreilly #633789 11/15/19 11:57 AM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,531
Moderator-Panasonic
***
Online Content
Moderator-Panasonic
***
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,531
I looked around and there seems to be a solution. It involves ARS and digit screening. Dial9

There's a PDF and further explanations.

Carl


There's no place like 127.0.0.1
Re: SV8300 have to dial 9 on 911 call
mreilly #633792 11/15/19 01:13 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,388
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,388
I know comparing the SV8100 and SV8300 is apples to oranges and I have no experience with the 8300 but the 8100 out of the box will dial 911 with or without the trunk access code, I would think NEC engineered the 8300 the same way, have you tested this to confirm?


We get old too soon, smart too late
Re: SV8300 have to dial 9 on 911 call
mreilly #633793 11/15/19 02:17 PM
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 359
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 359
This can be done using LCR tables. Route 11 in the LCR and add 9 in the digit add table. We typically route 911 and 11 in the LCR. Modify the Max digits table for 11. Set it to 2 digits. The 9 is absorbed. Break out everything else around it.

Re: SV8300 have to dial 9 on 911 call
dans #633807 11/16/19 07:35 PM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,325
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,325
Originally Posted by dans
I know comparing the SV8100 and SV8300 is apples to oranges and I have no experience with the 8300 but the 8100 out of the box will dial 911 with or without the trunk access code, I would think NEC engineered the 8300 the same way, have you tested this to confirm?


Probably unlikely as the 8300 software is out of the ark 1980s and from NEC where as the 8100 is Nitsuku and the late 1990s. Here in New Zealand people don't have a problem with dialing 9 -911 for emergency calling. with signs scattered around the place saying that. . Enhanced 911 (E911) as the SV 8100 and later systems call it is hardly used as most of the techs seem to think it is too hard though I have seen schools using it..


Regards,

Paul W
Now back to a 0 day week. Love these 7 day weekends.

Moderated by  DrPbx, ttech 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
Handset can call out, but not receive calls
by WildBill - 08/06/20 06:01 PM
Abandoned/Obsolete Armored Copper Drop.
by dexman - 08/06/20 12:10 AM
NEC Cordless Phones
by teldata1 - 08/05/20 09:31 AM
SV9100 Call forwding to voice mail
by teldata1 - 08/05/20 09:24 AM
Help!! Mitel 200 ICP mailbox 0 being hacked
by EPearson - 08/04/20 09:16 PM
Who's Online Now
28 members (Arthur P. Bloom, morephones, RATHER BE FISHING, Matthew McCoy, newtecky, dexman, Mercenary Roadie, Professor Shadow, hbiss, Silversam, justbill, Bob3470, KRRath, gertter, jeffmoss26, metelcom, Yoda, Carl Navarro, nortelvoip, nfcphoneman, Ruben, infinito, hitechcomm, RonP, ringtone, Touch Tone Tommy, Tip&Ring, JBean3329), 156 guests, and 80 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,864
Posts636,746
Members49,329
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Droop, Linda Utley, lorenlee91, Lorenzo, olyaby
Newest Members
bmerri19, Henry VIII, jmontler, barryv, carag62
49328 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 39
Ruben 20
DonaldR 17
hbiss 17
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners