Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#636803 05/16/20 01:28 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,206
Likes: 4
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,206
Likes: 4
I usually use Net Gear POE . 8 port and 16 port.
Not so happy with the 24 port.
Any recommendations
Thanks
Ken

Atcom VoIP Demo
Get a VoIP Demo Today
hitechcomm #636804 05/16/20 10:43 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,633
Likes: 7
Admin
***
Offline
Admin
***
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,633
Likes: 7
I have several FS-726's without problems. My small port count boxes are Amazon's finest (BV-Tech) and I see there's a 24+4 port POE unmanaged Gig switch rated at 390 watts. I may buy one for my next project.

Pretty much, I split switches for AP's and Phones to separate boxes. Now, a power cycle will reboot all the AP's and not affect the phones. In hospitality, I have never had more than 3 phones and the Raspberry Pi at one time, so that's on a 9 or 10 port POE box and the AP's are on a 10.

Carl

hitechcomm #636816 05/17/20 08:31 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,414
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,414
Likes: 1
I typically use Dell switches. One customer of mine is all Ubiquiti gear.


Jeff Moss

Moss Communications
Computer Repair-Networking-Cabling
MBSWWYPBX, JGAE
hitechcomm #636830 05/18/20 05:57 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,001
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,001
Likes: 1
I bought one of those BV-tech 10 port poe and I could fry an egg on it.

hitechcomm #636833 05/18/20 06:17 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,206
Likes: 4
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,206
Likes: 4
Thanks for the replies.
I am using Cisco 24 Port POE. They work fine but not cheap.
Looking for a less expensive one. Net -gear 24 port not working as good as the 8 and 12 port ones.

jsaad #636839 05/18/20 09:33 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,633
Likes: 7
Admin
***
Offline
Admin
***
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,633
Likes: 7
I hadn't noticed, but Pan

I must have cabin fever

hitechcomm #636843 05/19/20 01:47 AM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 816
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 816
We use Adtran NetVanta or Ruckus ICX PoE switches. Not the cheapest solution by any means, but they are rock solid.
On our deployments, we typically setup remote management via a dedicated management VLAN that allows us to configure/troubleshoot phone issues remotely all the way to the switch port.

Another thing is LLDP works well with these two brands, as we always place the phones into their own tagged VLAN.
I don't mind Netgear switches, but have never really been completely happy with them. Just seems like we never had management or LLDP working correctly on them.

We had a customer who insisted we use his Ubiquiti switches, and reluctantly we did. Not a fan of those at all. Great for access points, but they don't support LLDP reliable at all.

hitechcomm #636858 05/20/20 02:50 AM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,206
Likes: 4
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,206
Likes: 4
Thanks. We will use Adtran in the next few installs and ser how it goes
Thanks everyone


Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,579
Posts635,617
Members49,577
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
AlohaBra, Buster, Marcel Rivera, Mr. Paul Rowe, Paul_Rowe, Ryan Hull, texdev
Newest Members
chyc, LostieWitness, djringjr, ScottRSA, Adam B
49,577 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 17
dexman 6
bobw 6
Who's Online Now
2 members (newtecky, RATHER BE FISHING), 4 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Best VoIP Phones | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5