Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Phone in DCS Operator Group doesn't ring
#636995 06/01/20 12:07 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 239
Keyset6 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 239
A customer wants to add a phone to answer incoming calls to the company. We're keeping on site dispatches to a minimum right now, so I had the customer log into the DCS to add the extension to the Operator Group. We found out the phone is already in the group. Other phones in the group do ring, but not the one in question. The customer mentioned the phone just has a 'Local' key - where others that ring have 2 incoming call keys. Her phone I believe has direct CO appearances.

I wonder if the phone in question isn't ringing because of what keys may be required on the phone? If it is a key layout change or something else, I don't want to task the customer with too much troubleshooting and/or configuration. Hopefully I'll be able to go to the site this week.

EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Re: Phone in DCS Operator Group doesn't ring
Keyset6 #636997 06/01/20 12:17 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,818
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,818
Sounds like the phone had been logged out.
Either remove and readd the extension to the group.
Or use the default feature code for login/out (53 iirc) then the group number.
This may reveal there is an ig key programmed on the phone (the button will light up when the phone is in the group)

Re: Phone in DCS Operator Group doesn't ring
nameless #637004 06/01/20 07:22 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 239
Keyset6 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 239
Ok thanks - I'll check if they recall ever logging in/out of the operator group.

Re: Phone in DCS Operator Group doesn't ring
Keyset6 #637040 06/03/20 08:30 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 239
Keyset6 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 239
Hey thanks again! I did some research after finding out the customer does log in. Sent the information to the customer, as you said the code was 53. The customer got back to me with this email:

GOOD NEWS!!! I DID IT!! HER PHONE RINGS INCOMING NOW!!!

I asked what group they used, she said 500. I guess that's the operator group, and 501 502 etc. would be a station group. This was a big help since we're still trying to limit on site visits. I do need to get out there though to move and add a phone. We still have many DCS phones in stock.

Last edited by Keyset6; 06/03/20 08:33 PM.

Moderated by  Genesiscomm, nameless, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
2199 Lithium battery
by brokeda - 10/24/20 06:01 PM
Colour Choice for X-16 gone...
by MooreTel - 10/24/20 01:49 AM
Are you an Asterisk Ace?
by Toner - 10/22/20 03:39 PM
SVMI Card settings backup & restore
by Hofman telekom - 10/21/20 01:46 PM
Who's Online Now
24 members (hitechcomm, Yoda, RATHER BE FISHING, Herk, jsb15, justbill, newtecky, Bob3470, nfcphoneman, nortelvoip, Edward_, buttercool, BobRobert, hbiss, Curlycord, brokeda, dexman, Touch Tone Tommy, Ruben, Professor Shadow, MooreTel, Meyery2k, dude, JBean3329), 181 guests, and 92 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,026
Posts637,641
Members49,367
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
There are no members with birthdays on this day.
Newest Members
chelsea419, jsb15, C.t.c.73, Farquie, 4teltech
49367 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 20
Ruben 15
hbiss 12
Toner 9
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Sold AD
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners