Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#638639 10/16/20 01:17 PM
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 120
ABLE1 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 120
Hello all again,

I am working a STSe system with In-Skin HDD VM card. Presently trying to access and program
the Voice mail. Software just won't connect. Pressing flex button for VM just rings.

I connected a VGA Monitor to the VM board and it shows a bunch of hardware data but at the
bottom it displays the following.

"No Boot Device Present. Halting"

Anyone know if that means the HDD has crashed and will never return??

OR

Is there something that can be done to recover from this??

Looking for some hint or solutions.

Thanks,

Les

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,306
Likes: 7
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,306
Likes: 7
Unfortunately, that "boot device" is your hard drive. The BIOS is getting you to the point where you get this message. You might get lucky and find a faulty connection on the drive where it attaches to the card, but that's about the best advice I can offer. There are HDD recovery companies, in fact I have one recovering mine from my laptop, but they're not cheap.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 120
ABLE1 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 120
Hi Ed,

Thanks for the reply.

So you are saying that the HDD is gone to another world??
I was afraid of that. So my choices are slim.
I will see if I can find a replacement.

Thanks,

Les

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 648
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 648
Likes: 1
If you still need a replacement, I have 2 or 3 I could let go at a fair price. Let me know if you are interested.


"I thought I was wrong once, but I was mistaken"
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 120
ABLE1 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 120
Hi adteldon,

Thanks for the offer. However, I already have a replacement.
Just have to find the time to get everything set up and programmed.

Have a a good day.

Les

Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 120
ABLE1 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 120
Hello All,

Ok, I am still working on the this project.

I now have a working (to a point) In-Skin HDD VM card for the STSe KSU.

I have connected a monitor with USB mouse and keyboard and all starts up as it should.
What I can't find is a program on the HDD that will allow me to program the VM board.

I can access the Voice Mail on a Extension Phone and set up there but I would like to
set up the Auto Attendant to allow various functions for incoming calls, etc.

What I don't know is what program I should be looking for. Is it InSkins Admin or something different??

The alternant question is; Does anyone have available the default data/programs that is installed on the HDD??

This is only a guess but, if someone has wanted to clean the programming off the HDD and deleted
the InSkins Admin software off the HDD then I would be viewing exactly what I described above.

Thanks for any insight!!

Les

Last edited by ABLE1; 12/10/20 03:08 PM.
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,306
Likes: 7
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,306
Likes: 7
If you're getting the Windows home screen, which you should, you should be able to click on the start button and select the voice mail application right there in the start menu programs. From there, it looks very similar to the layout of the Talkpath/Disptatch voice mail ADMIN32 software.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 120
ABLE1 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 120
Hi Ed,

Yes I am getting the WIN XP home screen and looking at the various programs and files
I could not locate any thing that would be related to a program to modify the VM.

I did notice a couple of files that were related to InSkin but they turned out to be
nothing. It is almost as if the InSkin Admin software was there at one time but
was removed or the folder was deleted for some reason.

At this point I have a 90 day warrantee with the seller and it is being replaced as I type.

Should be here by the middle of next week. Hopefully, the replacement will be
ready to go. I will report back the results.

Thanks,

Les

Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 120
ABLE1 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 120
Originally Posted by EV607797
If you're getting the Windows home screen, which you should, you should be able to click on the start button and select the voice mail application right there in the start menu programs. From there, it looks very similar to the layout of the Talkpath/Disptatch voice mail ADMIN32 software.


Hi Ed and others,

I received the replacement InSkins HDD VM Board. Installed it and connected Monitor, Mouse, Keyboard.
I have been looking for a program of some type to set up and program the VM system
but just can't find it. I may be as DUMB as a ROCK but I don't see it.

Please see the attached. It would seem to me that the program would be in the TalkPath folder.

InSkins HDD WIN_XP screen

I tried the most logical but they all seem to hang and do nothing.

I did open this and it seem to be working but no programming ability.
PathFinder ViewPort

I did do a file search for InSkins*.* and the only thing that comes up is a shortcut that proves to be empty.

Any insight would be most helpful.

Thanks,

Les

Last edited by ABLE1; 12/16/20 08:15 PM.
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,819
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,819
XP OS should be loaded onto the hard drive, from there just like you are looking at your own laptop, go to desktop, then start programs look for Vodavi, and there should be an admin file to open, works the same as the old pathfinders, not like the admin sofware where you connect with a serial cable.


www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 120
ABLE1 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 120
Originally Posted by Derrick
XP OS should be loaded onto the hard drive, from there just like you are looking at your own laptop, go to desktop, then start programs look for Vodavi, and there should be an admin file to open, works the same as the old pathfinders, not like the admin sofware where you connect with a serial cable.


Hello Derrick,

Yes the XP OS is loaded and there are 3 programs running.

Data Source 3.0.211
PathFinder
Process Monitor
See the pictures in the DropBox link here: InSkins HDD

The programs that are running don't seem to give any ability to make any changes.

I did a search for Vodavi and only found one file. Vodavi89.exe
When I double click on it a screen pops up that appears to be black DOS screen for about 1 second and
then disappears. Can't read anything in that 1 second flash but if something is there that can't be used.

As I said before I am feeling like as Dumb as a Rock here but it seems that certain program files are just missing.

Also when I search for *admin*.* I get the files shown in the one picture. Clicking on a few indicate that
the file is either changed or moved and will no longer work.

Any chance there is something that can be downloaded from somewhere that could be loaded into this HDD??

Thanks for any assist.

Les

Last edited by ABLE1; 12/17/20 06:02 PM.
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,819
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,819
The voice mail would not be running at all, no view port if the operating system was not loaded. Minimize all the open screens and open xp menu like you would for any program and see if there is an icon/shortcut/folder for voice mail or vodavi or if I remember correctly it may be pathfinder. There should be something there that opens programming, otherwise you will need a serial cable and the admin software loaded on a laptop to progam the voicemail.

Last edited by Derrick; 12/17/20 11:33 PM.

www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 120
ABLE1 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 120
Originally Posted by Derrick
The voice mail would not be running at all, no view port if the operating system was not loaded. Minimize all the open screens and open xp menu like you would for any program and see if there is an icon/shortcut/folder for voice mail or vodavi or if I remember correctly it may be pathfinder. There should be something there that opens programming, otherwise you will need a serial cable and the admin software loaded on a laptop to program the voicemail.

Hi Derrick,

"The voice mail would not be running at all, no view port if the operating system was not loaded."
Sorry if I was not clear. The XP Operation System is running as well as the three programs as listed.

The Extensions do have access to the Voice Mail system. Where I am having a problem is finding the
program that is used to program the Voice Mail System.

Yes, previously I was using InSkin Admin that was loaded on my Laptop and I connected thru a Serial Cable.
For whatever reason that software has a problem and I can't connect. I get a couple of errors when I open
the program and then when I try to connect I get an error stating I need to enter the passcode for Ext. 100
I have already set that passcode to 0000 and have entered that before connecting.
Even though I can only see the **** on the screen when I type 0000.

The fact that I can't get InSkin Admin to work is the reason I am trying to program thru the Monitor-Mouse-Keypad
directly connected to the board. That is what I was hoping to do but not finding the correct program to do so makes
me more that a bit frustrated.

Ok, so that being said I brought up Programs/Pathfinder Voice Processing/Shortcuts List
Under that list there is the following:
ActiveVex Help
Boombox
Call List Admin
CodeKey Manager
Data Server
DCC SwitchBoard
DCC SwitchBoard Help
E-Mail Sync Server
E-Mail Sync Server Admin
Maint
Pathfinder
Q&A Admin
Release Notes
Unified Messaging Server
VPIM Outbound Messaging Manager


Of those if I click on Pathfinder what comes up is a program called ViewPort Pathfinder
Which only give me a LiveView of the Active CO ports. No Programming abilities or the VM.

Otherwise the short cuts don't go anywhere. Except to say that the shortcut refers to a program that
has been changed or moved. Do you want to delete this shortcut??

So it would seem to me that the Pathfinder Admin program(s) have been deleted at some point.

Would like to know where I can acquire the files that can be loaded on this XP HDD.
Or where I can DL a copy of InSkin Admin that I can load on my WIN98 Laptop (that still works)

Thanks for the assist!!

Les

Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,136
Moderator-Vodavi, Vertical, XBlue
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vodavi, Vertical, XBlue
*****
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,136
You certainly have given quite a bit of info. I can feel your frustration too. Don't know if this would change anything, but perhaps running a disk maintenance program on it like defrag might help? It did always feel odd using the VMHD as the PC by connecting the Monitor, mouse and keyboard to it. I don't know if trying clone a VMHD would help either. Especially since the drive is mounted on the board.


- Dave S. -

You can never appease your ideologue opponents.

Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 120
ABLE1 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 120
Hi Dave,

I could add a lot more to the info list but not sure it would help. I agree on the defrag. But it didn't help.
I think there are two things that are going on with this particular VM HDD. One, is that at some time in
the past someone deleted some part of the files. Two, there is a loose connection on the DB9. I noticed
at one point it appeared I was connected with WINDBA and then I was not.

I would like to do a clone of the HDD if I had a good working unit to clone from, however I don't.

Lots of odd issues so at this point I have abandoned the process for trying to get it to work as a replacement
for my office system. If this was for a customer I would have thrown in the towel a lot sooner.

Thanks for the tips.

Have a better New Year starting this week. :-)

Les

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  EV607797, JWRacedog, MnDave, nfcphoneman 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,375
Posts634,587
Members49,525
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics (Views)
Today's Birthdays
apexnetworks, blpogue, Hillyard, Silversam
Newest Members
NiagaraGuy, Luv2uallday, FredSkidoo, tspa, xtrememachines
49,525 Registered Users
Top Posters (30 Days)
Toner 17
dexman 12
R4+Z 6
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 5 guests, and 7 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Telephone Systems Canada | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5