Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#643436 09/01/22 11:57 AM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,232
Likes: 5
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,232
Likes: 5
I need to move 2 extensions , 120 and 144 remotely.
I get into system with no problem. Just not sure how to move them.

Thanks
Ken

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,318
Likes: 7
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,318
Likes: 7
Digital or IP?

Digital - change the base extension numbers and ask the customer to go to each phone and dial *36. The first one makes the User disappear from the phone, go to NoUser, but show the new extension number. When you do *36 on the 2nd one, the User comes back to the first phone, and of course the 2nd phone drops to its proper User.

You can also give the Users a Login Code under User>Telephony>Supervisor Settings, use the same code such as 1234. Make a System Short Code of *#N / Extension Login / N*1234. Ask them to go to each phone and dial *# followed by the extension number they want to phone to become. Again, when they do the first one, the 2nd one goes to NoUser, until they get over to the 2nd phone and dial the code. Verify in SSA that the Base Extensions now have the new Users, in Manager change the Base extension numbers, and Merge.

(When we used to do large deployments of digital phones, we would either blank out all of the extension numbers on the Extensions, or put in Placeholder extension numbers. The tech would run cross-connects any way they want, just picking the next available port off of the block, and when getting to the desk log in the phone. When the phones were all up and running, we use SSA to see what User is logged into which Base and square them up in Manager)

IP - have the customer go into the Craft or Admin menu and "Log Out", which is NOT the same as *36 Hotdesk logout - it unregisters the phone from the IPO and returns to the Login prompt that you get when initially installing the phone. Once both phones are unregistered, register them to the IPO with the correct extension number and password.

A mix of 1 digital and 1 IP - blank out the extension number on the Digital extension, Log Out the IP phone via the Craft or Admin menu, reregister the IP with the correct extension number, put the correct extension number back on the digital extension. You will probably have to use the Login button on the digital phone to log it in, I don't think it will automatically come up.

2 members like this: dagwoodsystems, RATHER BE FISHING
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,232
Likes: 5
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,232
Likes: 5
Tommy, thank you


Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,738
Posts636,407
Members49,615
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
aaronazatian, bg6214, Jigger, mkpgt, willtech
Newest Members
AMS Technology C, Chrontel, RonZ1971, Michael1948, lllDez
49,615 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 8
jsaad 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 62 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5