Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
user Offline OP
OP Offline
Hi,
I'm an office manager for a small company. Our current phone system is a Partner ACS R3.0.1. Our IT manager is the self-taught phone "expert" and was trying to add a new module and now our voicemail has a lot of static. My boss wants the system fixed or upgraded. It's my understanding that the R3 is 7 years old and the current version is R7. Should we upgrade to the R7 or try to fix the R3? What are the benefits to upgrading?

While reading some of the messages on this board, I couldn't help but notice that you guys frown on self-taught phone "experts". I don't blame you. I will definitely do whatever I can to make sure we hire a professional to take care of this. I promise. smile

Avaya IP Office Help & Support Website
IP Office Help

Avaya IP Office Help & Support Website

FAQs, documentation, videos, updates, and support for the Avaya IP Office business phone system!
Everything you need to know about installing, upgrading, and troubleshooting IP 500v2 and IPO Server Edition systems.

Moderator-ESI, Shoretel
Moderator-ESI, Shoretel
Does your current system meet all of your needs? If so then your R3 should keep going for quite a while. On top of that static in the voice mail might not be solved ny a new processor. Where are you located?

Can you provide a list of the cards in your cabinet.From left to right.

You say you added a module and it may be out of order in the cabinet.The mail should be to the right of any line /co cards. :bang:

The ACS R6 as well as the ACS R7 are current versions. The R7 has been redesigned to provide 5 lines and 9 extensions as a standalone. It can be used in place of a R1 thru R6 however it seems to have many bugs as usually attributed to the first of a new release. I stay away from them.