web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
OP Offline
I'm looking for some opinionated advice here. I'm a computer network admin, who also maintains (if you can call it that) the following pbx systems:
1st location:
Merlin Magix R2 w/8 analog loopstart trunks and 25 extensions for 4400 series and Partner 18 series phones. Merlin Messaging 8 port
2nd location:
Partner ACS R4 w/5 analog trunks and 10 extensions for Partner 18 series phones. Integrated messaging.

We are looking to move to a VOIP platform on PRI in order to:
1. decrease costs
2. connect both locations with the same dial plan
3. connect a data network between both locations
4. increase internet bandwidth for both sites

We are talking with a consultant from our CLEC and from an Avaya vendor. I just want to get some opinions to make sure our consultants are being honest with us.

Is is not possible to connect these 2 systems via ptp T1/PRI? They are proposing to completely replace the current systems.
Will we be able to use the same PRI for internet data and also WAN (site to site) data?
Is using a PRI site to site "really" the same as VOIP?

Our executive director really wants to go voip, but it appears our consultants are trying to sell us a pri based solution, which is not really the same thing, and is not going to save us much money, imo.

Can you guys help give me some options on how to reach our goals with voip? Also what is your take on what the consultant is selling us? Obviously it will work, but is it way more than we need? Is there a simpler way about this?

Avaya IP Office Help & Support Website
IP Office Help

Avaya IP Office Help & Support Website

FAQs, documentation, videos, updates, and support for the Avaya IP Office business phone system!
Everything you need to know about installing, upgrading, and troubleshooting IP 500v2 and IPO Server Edition systems.

Moderator-ESI, Shoretel
Moderator-ESI, Shoretel