Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#85546 07/11/07 03:13 PM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,043
Likes: 2
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,043
Likes: 2
Does anyone out there have any familiarity with AT&Ts ISDN 81510 or 8520 sets. I've got half a dozen (out of 4000 or so) that are constantly resetting (mostly overnight).

You leave at 17:00 and your phone is OK. Come in at 08:00 and your phone is dead. Unplug it, replug it and it comes up fine.

I'ver tried all the usual stuff and haven't found anything yet. All the replacement sets I have are old (8-10 years) & used. Before I start wholesale replacement of phones with Tone Commander 6210/20 sets, I'd like to know if anyone has seen this sort of thing before.

TIA,

Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
#85547 07/16/07 08:13 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 409
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 409
I've had a couple customers that had 8510 sets installed. One never had a bit of trouble from them, the other I'd cringe every time I had to unplug them. Sometimes they would not come back after unplugging them until I would busy out and rel the port and station. Once they were working, they worked fine.


WWW.EmeryCommunications.com
Authorized SMB Avaya Business Partner
#85548 07/16/07 08:46 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,346
Likes: 10
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,346
Likes: 10
Tone Commander sets really are the way to go, but I understand your position. I have a similarly-sized customer who insisted that I come up with a better solution. I found a refurbishing company that literally makes them good as new and their price is right. In some cases, I was amazed. Send me a PM if you are interested and I'll get you their contact information. You won't be disappointed.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
#85549 07/17/07 04:54 AM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,043
Likes: 2
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,043
Likes: 2
Daytech - Thanks! That's been my experience - Some are fine and some lock up everyday. I've been replacing the problem ones with Tone Commanders and the problem seems to have gone away.

Ed - Thanks for the offer, but the customer (The City of NY) has just decided (Friday)to go with new Tone Commanders rather than refurbed AT&Ts.

So it looks like I've got a way to go for now.

Thanks all!

Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,740
Posts636,416
Members49,619
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Charles Duffy, Station Specialties
Newest Members
RockyTop, Homer Domer, Lane, AMS Technology C, Chrontel
49,618 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
jsaad 7
Toner 6
Who's Online Now
2 members (MooreTel, Memphisribs), 59 guests, and 18 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5