Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#91946 11/17/08 12:52 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,216
Likes: 5
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,216
Likes: 5
Customer has 8 pots lines. Only 7 should be ans by AA. 1 should just ring. However the 1 is answered after 4 rings and is transfered to the operator. It is not assigned as a line in the AA.
Thanks for any help.

Atcom VoIP Demo
Get a VoIP Demo Today
#91947 11/17/08 01:21 PM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 492
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 492
Partner Messaging? Merlin Messaging?

#91948 11/17/08 01:35 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,084
Likes: 1
Spam Hunter
*****
Offline
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,084
Likes: 1
I would say Merlin Messaging. The Partner Messaging did not have such a release.

I'm guessing that the POTs line in question is assigned to a calling group that points to the voicemail.

If it is, remove the line from that group and assign it to some other group.


I Love FEATURE 00
#91949 11/17/08 02:24 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,216
Likes: 5
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,216
Likes: 5
Sorry merlin messaging.
It's not in a calling group, I checked.

#91950 11/17/08 03:22 PM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,312
Likes: 2
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,312
Likes: 2
It may be assigned directly to a voice mail port with delayed ring. That would cause it to answer, but not receive mode codes, and transfer to the operator.

#91951 11/17/08 04:34 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 515
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 515
Tom may be correct.

However, I have another theory.

The line may be assigned to an extension.

That extension has "PRINCIPLE USER" or OWNERSHIP of this line.

That extension is in the COVER GROUP pointing to Voice Mail.

However, that extension has no Voice Mail box.

Thus, when a call comes to it, it is covered by Voice Mail. Voice Mail realizes there is no Mail Box for it, and sends it to the Operator.

Either scenario would cause this problem.


RULE NUMBER 2, "THINKIN' WON'T GET IT, YOU GOTTA KNOW!" RULE NUMBER 3, if you need TIER-3 SUPPORT on a LEGEND or MAGIX, go to http://home.comcast.net/~merlinman -

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,628
Posts635,874
Members49,589
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
BizTelNancy, djboston, dougtech, girlie girl, Jack Damage, SwedaGuy, SynapticSystems, tkalfaoglu
Newest Members
TVCTech, joe angi, TommyKay, 電信小吳, Partswatch
49,589 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 10
Toner 8
Yoda 5
dans 5
Who's Online Now
5 members (VOIP, curtonpond, Ruben, Iwatsu Guru, newtecky), 128 guests, and 10 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Best VoIP Phones | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5