atcomsystems.ca/forum
Posted By: matts520 butt set phone number - 05/04/08 03:21 PM
This is what I need help with, Im just starting out with phone wireing I know there is someway when you use a butt set on a line that theres a phone number to call on the butt set that it will tell you the phone number your on. I just dont know that phone number, If someone know what that number is and can tell me please. thanks, matthew
Posted By: skip555 Re: butt set phone number - 05/04/08 03:25 PM
Hi Matt
welcome

Just dial your cell phone or any other phone that has caller id enabled
Posted By: MNCommunications Re: butt set phone number - 05/04/08 04:18 PM
Check with some local telco techs. Around here the different companies all have specific numbers they call and there is an 800 number I can't remember off the top of my head that will also do it. There are alot of places out here that you don't have cell phone service.
Posted By: merlinman Re: butt set phone number - 05/04/08 05:02 PM
I agree with Skip.

My cell phone is just about the best test set I ever bought.
Posted By: hbiss Re: butt set phone number - 05/04/08 05:59 PM
Even if you do get a telco tech to talk, the number will be good only for the ILEC he works for. With so many people going to alternate providers (CLECS) you are going to find that the number doesn't work lots of times. That's why calling your cell is the best route.

-Hal
Posted By: Jim Baldwin Re: butt set phone number - 05/04/08 06:18 PM
Post deleted. Too much information given to an inexperienced installer in a public forum.
Posted By: skip555 Re: butt set phone number - 05/04/08 07:40 PM
one big advantage to calling your cell is the number is there to see rather than trying to scribble it down or listening carefully in a noisy room
Posted By: hbiss Re: butt set phone number - 05/04/08 08:20 PM
And you can scroll through your recent call list to see them in the order you dialed them.

-Hal