atcomsystems.ca/forum
Can anyone tell me what's up with this company? Birch Telecom - (a telecommunications business). . . they are calling.wanting me to give my OK for them to check my telephone bills so they can offer me much better rates than we are currently getting. She was saying they can take Bell South and transfer ownership to them so they can offer me much lower rates. (something like that)

As you all know by now from a prior thread, I am not a Techie when it comes to all this telephone stuff - hey!! I am learning though - thanks to all of you. :>)

Is it worth looking into? Do they sub-lease to Bell South or what????
https://www.birch.com/
Reseller there are lots of them around, some good some not. They buy bundles from the local telco for a discounted price and resell them. Best bet is to check with some of their other customers, many have hidden cost that don't show up until after you switch.
also, some ask for reallllly long contract agreements. And I've seen at least one go belly up and the users all lost thier lines when the telco got court permission to turn off thier T's, to make matters worse the clients were paying by lease from a third party who still wanted to be paid for the equipment.
mark
You can save A LOT of money by going with a CLEC over BellSouth!

Many CLECS offer expanded calling areas. In other words, some calls that use to be long distance may now be free. There might cities which are close to your location but normally considered long distance.

Many of them also provide extra features such as call waiting, caller ID at no additional cost(unlike bell south)

I would strongly recommend you to compare the deal. Bell South really rips people off to be honest.

My personal bills are over 50% less then with bell south.

Let me know how it turns out.
fwiw............birch is pulling out of the east texas area. i have tons of birch customers calling now because they are switching back to sbc