atcomsystems.ca/forum
Help With TELECOM Question, Test Your KNOWLEDGE

Im a Directv installer and want to switch over to verizon. Im applying for a job but before they accept you they make you pass a test(field operations assessment) and Im having problems with some questions since i know little of telecom Im a satellite installer so i need help on these questions. By the way this is just to get into the trainment phase any help is appreciated, THANK YOU!

1. The green lead on a sidekick test set is connected to the:
1.ground
2.ring
3.battery
4.tip
2.A grounding wrist strap must be used when working with which of the following items
1.NID
2.electronic circuit packs
3.SAL point
4.Terminal
3.What type of ground wire is typically used to ground a wood pole?
1.No. 6 insulated
2.No. 12. insulated
3.No. 6 bare
4.No 12 bare
4. Which of the following types of customer inside wire would not meet minimum telecom industry POTS line standards to qualify for a maintenance agreement?
1.Unshielded CAT 5
2.Shielded Cat 5
3.Braided Cat 2
4.Unshielded Cat 3
5.What is the purpose of grounding a Telco protector or the cable service?
1.To extend circuit length
2.There is no need to ground a Telco protector or the cable service
3.To increase bandwidth
4.Surge protection
6.Drop wires should initially be placed at heights higher than minimum clearances because
1. Electronic companies require telephone companies to comply with this policy
2.cable tv companies may place their service wires lower than the telephone company does
3.drop wires will sag from exposure to heat and precipitation
4.of the need to provide enough slack for easy repairs
7.which of the following is not an advantage of plowing cable over trenching?
1.lower cost of equipment
2.smaller size of equipment
3.causes less ground disturbance than trenching
4.can be used with greater depth and size of cable
8.what type of terminal should be installed in a new community of 2 family houses fed by underground copper cable.