atcomsystems.ca/forum
Posted By: nate004 voip problems - 09/02/04 09:13 AM
We are using a CTX 670 with 2 users using ip phones. One in Indianapolis, one in Houston. They are connecting through a broadband cable connection going through a linksys cable/dsl router and are experiencing poor voice quality, especially choppiness. I am not experienced with Voip and our vendor has been no help in resolving our issue. If you can help please respond. Thanks.
Posted By: tony3866 Re: voip problems - 09/02/04 02:36 PM
I'm don't work on this system but try changing the jitter buffer to a high number if you have a setting for it. Also try changing codec to g.729a if you have that setting. This sends smaller packets so if some are lost it doesn't get so choppy
Posted By: martin Re: voip problems - 09/03/04 07:16 AM
have you spoken to the installation technician?
m
Posted By: nate004 Re: voip problems - 09/03/04 07:19 AM
I have and they don't seem to know a whole lot. Pretty much all they are saying is that it should work. And have no explanations as to why it doesn't. I would even be happy with suggestions to try but can't even get that.
Posted By: phonemeister Re: voip problems - 09/03/04 02:49 PM
Tony has a great suggestion. Try using the g729 codec. It's simple to change.
Posted By: brokeda Re: voip problems - 09/07/04 06:29 AM
are they using VPN?
Posted By: nate004 Re: voip problems - 09/07/04 06:33 AM
No we are not using VPN. We were told by our vendor that wouldn't make a difference.
Posted By: junkman Re: voip problems - 09/18/04 03:41 PM
If the BIPU isn't on a public address outside the router, you need to use a VPN. Definitely go with G.729 and increase the jitter buffer. E-mail me and I'll send you a cheat sheet for programming.
Posted By: adclark Re: voip problems - 09/26/04 10:21 AM