atcomsystems.ca/forum
Posted By: Oleg Uvarov Starplus STS working with Asterisk - 04/08/06 01:52 AM
I have Starplus STS and I am trying to deploy Asterisk to work with it. Did anyone here do it?
Potential problems, suggestions, is it possible at all? Even though I use STS for 3+ years (can make changes in programming myself for the most part) and play with Asterisk for quite a while I am still very new in telephony. My reasoning for such project is: save my investments into Vodavi equipment, have Vodavi stuff as my back up. Since I am just starting I will have lots of questions...Thanks in advance to those who can help!
Posted By: tampasteve Re: Starplus STS working with Asterisk - 04/08/06 11:14 AM
What is the reasoning to using an IP system in the first place? The STS (for the most part) is a rock solid product for a business application that is not in need of IP features. If you are looking for a true replacement for a digital key system, I believe the Asterisk will fall short for you. However, you could make it work. For deploying it alongside the STS I have not herd of that, but others here can probobly help you out more.

Steve
Posted By: nfcphoneman Re: Starplus STS working with Asterisk - 04/08/06 03:03 PM
Welcome to the board, Oleg! I don't think you'll find a lot of help for configuring the Asterisk on this site. Most of the participants on this site are telecom professionals and quite frankly, don't have the time to mess with Asterisk.

However, you could use a couple of ATA's (Sipura, Cisco, etc...) to connect to a CO port on the STS. Good luck.
Posted By: Oleg Uvarov Re: Starplus STS working with Asterisk - 04/12/06 01:58 PM
Thank you for all answers / opinions.

I totally agree: STS is a rock solid product and I love it. There are at least two reasons why I want Asterisk to work for me as well.
1. STS has limitations 24 CO's 48 STA right? By deploying Asterisk I can go beyond this.