atcomsystems.ca/forum
Posted By: OffTheDeepEnd.com Computer help - 12/15/04 07:53 AM
Hello everyone, I have posted a few things on the computer forum, as that is my expertice but I just wanted everyone to know a little about what I do. Currently I am having a few problems with my DCS Compact phone system so I came accross this site and you guys have been great with all the help so I figured I would offer some of my services to you. I am a windows system administrator with MCSE, A+ and network admin certs. I have a few years of experience with web design and Cat 5 cabling. If anyone has any questions, please e-mail me and I will see what I can do for you.

-Austin
Posted By: Toner Re: Computer help - 12/15/04 08:08 PM
Hey Austin,

I'm setting up a NAT router and I have a few questions about it. When I do a tracert to a public address I get the response from the first hop OK (192.168.X.X) but I can't get any responses after that. Internet access works OK along with SMNP etc. The tracert worked fine with the old router. What would the problem be?
Posted By: OffTheDeepEnd.com Re: Computer help - 12/16/04 05:01 AM
Well, there could be a few different things that could be wrong. The first thing that I need to know is what kind of router do you have? There is a big difference from diagnosing a Cisco router compared to a Linksys. Also what type of Broadband connection are you tieing it in to? Unfortunately without knowing those couple things, there are too many possibilities. It sounds to me like a common problem of the router not being able to retreive an IP address and DNS IP's from your local ISP. Just let me know though and I will see what I can do.

-Austin
Posted By: junkman Re: Computer help - 12/21/04 11:13 AM