atcomsystems.ca/forum
Posted By: Corwyn SIP aware router - 02/08/05 09:32 AM
Prety much says it all.

Does anyone know of a model/brand of router that is SIP aware?

Corwyn
Posted By: jjimm Re: SIP aware router - 02/14/05 08:57 PM
I prefer to use Cisco hardware. Depending on your requirements, anything above a 12.1 version, such as a 7200 router would suffice for most applications.
Posted By: Corwyn Re: SIP aware router - 02/15/05 06:30 AM
Jim,

I'm afraid to ask, how much are one of those? Maybe linksys makes a cheaper version?
Posted By: 5years&counting Re: SIP aware router - 02/15/05 08:02 AM
In my experience (recent experience), Linksys and SIP don't mix. At least not yet anyway. I've had some bad experiences with newer Linksys routers. It's possible it is specific to my application, but reading some reviews on various websites, I am not alone in the troubles I had. Do your homework before buying. You usually can't go wrong buying the Cisco products. They are stable and do what they were designed to do. My recent experience shows that Linksys makes claims they can't live up to (marketing hype), and the Cisco name on the Linksys router means NOTHING in regards to quality. Also, if you have some means for Cisco support, whether direct or indirect, you will have far better results and get much more help than trying to get support from Linksys and their level 1 techs.

Okay, now I'm wondering...what do you mean by "SIP-aware"?
Posted By: jjimm Re: SIP aware router - 02/15/05 10:40 AM
Corwyn- when it comes to pricing, there is a huge diference. Corporations use routers like the 7200, which run between $15k-$20K (a little pricey for an individual or small business).

Again, it depends on the application and size of the system. For a small biz, the Allworx is ok, as you know. Any router will suffice if you have a separate SIP & A/D unit.

Send me an email if you want to discuss things offline.
Posted By: Milestone Re: SIP aware router - 02/16/05 02:59 PM