atcomsystems.ca/forum
Posted By: Foggy OS7400 PRI trouble - 06/21/16 09:11 PM
Hello all,

Long time lurker, with a problem.

I'll preface this with the fact that I have very little experience with PRI.

We have a customer that has recently switched to a PRI circuit, which I was able to get up and going with no problems. Inbound and outbound are both fine, with one exception.

This is for a small Rural Electric Power Cooperative.. when they have an outage and several people attempt to call in at once, it exceeds their call capacity (capacity currently is 12 concurrent calls via Access Point).. trouble is, that the 13th and higher inbound callers hear a recording of "I'm sorry, this is not a working number". Must be a Access Point recording, as I'm not aware of that recording on a Samsung VM.

This also happens when they call forward the lead DID to an answering service (after hours), when more than 2 calls get forwarded.

I feel like the provider (Access Point) does not have something configured correctly, however they (Access Point) keeps telling the customer that I do not have the "hunt group" setup correctly.

Is there something that I am missing.. is this something that you have experienced before?

Again, I have very little experience with PRI.. so I may be missing something very basic.

Thanks,
Robert
---
Posted By: JBean3329 Re: OS7400 PRI trouble - 06/21/16 10:56 PM
There really isn't much to program, save for inbound destinations. If you receive calls in the right places, your inbound stuff is probably all right. I f calls complete normally on outbound calls, you're probably good with that as well.

Most of what you're describing in on the provider to solve. If they're only providing 12 inbound channels. they need to tell the 13th caller something besides 'a non-working number'.

As for outbound forwarding, again, why can't your provider handle two simultaneous calls to the same number? This is not a hunt group issue, at least not on your end.