atcomsystems.ca/forum
Posted By: alchron Question about 66 blocks and Cat5 Cabling - 10/21/09 07:12 AM
I am about to start a project where I am wanting to add new phones to an existing 66 block that has been using the older phone system from Meridian. The phones are AT&T 1014 phones, and they require more adept wiring like Cat5.

My question is whether its a good idea to hook the new phones into the existing block that way if something happens to the new phones, the older phones can be subbed in quickly so that they can still receive calls. The electrician that works for the company has told me that I can either stack the lines onto the existing ones (line 1-4 paired with each other) or I can use Wirenuts to combine them and use another wire coming from them and hook that into the 66 block. I have never worked on a phone system before, I mainly work on computers and do minor networking configurations.

Any help is appreciated, and I did do a search on the forums but I didn't find a specific answer to my problem. Thanks in advance.
Electrician and wirenuts...there's your first problem.
Honestly, hire a phone tech and have it done right.
Well, this project got dropped on me, and they know very well that I don't know what I am doing with this. But still, not looking at it as a long-term solution for them, would it work?
they know very well that I don't know what I am doing with this.
you are to be commended for recognizing your limitations and seeking guidance

to answer your question , yes it would be best to terminate the new cable to the existing 66 block if there is room or establish a new block with the new cable .

Im not familiar with the ATT 1014 what is it about it that requires cat5 cable ?

how important is reliable phone service to the business ?

I agree with Jeff a few dollars spent for someone knowledge to set this up properly beats downtime and troubleshooting down the road

BTW welcome