atcomsystems.ca/forum
Posted By: Josh Jenkins ESI S-Class Hard Drive - 05/28/09 02:02 PM
We made a major investment (for our little business, anyway) in a phone system (ESI IVX S-Class). Just months after it was paid off, and after the warranty had expired, the hard drive failed.

I've been a system admin for years, and was surprised when our ESI reseller informed me of the exceptionally high cost of replacing this little drive.

The drive is a Fujitsu 10GB laptop drive. I'm aware that it probably has been formatted with a proprietary system.

Consider this: When I purchased the system, I paid not only for the hardware, but also for a license to use the ESI software. When a hard drive fails, they charge you not only for the failed hardware, but also for the software which you've already paid for once.

This, in my opinion, is an immoral and outrageous practice designed to rip off consumers.

It would be like if, when your computer's hard drive fails, you also would have to pay full price for a brand new copy of Microsoft Windows, and Office, and any other software you lost when the drive failed. Obviously, that would be ridiculous when it comes to a PC.

Really, that's all these ESI systems are. A PC. Except they are a PC specifically built to ensure customer's have to return to them for very expensive upgrades and repairs on a regular basis.

Needless to say, we'll never purchase any system like this again. I'd rather spend every waking hour learning to manage an open-source system than spend one more minute with a dishonest company, trying to get me to PAY AGAIN for software I already purchased.
Posted By: LaneComm Re: ESI S-Class Hard Drive - 05/28/09 03:17 PM
You might want to revisit this whole hard drive cost / software cost with your reseller or maybe get another price from another reseller.

When you get a new drive make sure you get the 5 year advanced replacement warranty.

ESI does not do business as you described.