sundance-communications.com
Posted By: TelecomGirl ECS/VMAC MW Lights - 03/14/13 05:10 PM
This must be my year for ECS/VM issues! I have an ECS, that I upgraded from a VS, that will not light MW lights. I installed their VS-VML on a VMAC and it is installed in slot 1 of the ECS. I made the required programming changes in the VS-VML to accommodate the ECS trunk numbering and such. Everything works fine, but no MW lights. I've changed key patterns to use a specific MBOX key (instead of 0), still nothing. I know that if you have more than one MBOX 0 key assigned to a key pattern, it can be a problem...but I've checked the key pattern (without a template) to verify this isn't the issue. The VS-VML lit the lamps last week when it was installed in the VS.

Is there a way to manually use the MW on/off code (519ext) to check the signalling/lamps? In my office ECS, if I attempt to dial 519ext, I get a busy. I thought the feature codes worked on any type of station (not just SLT). I can dial *ext and get a VM box, but can't dial 519ext to light a lamp.
Posted By: Keighlar Re: ECS/VMAC MW Lights - 03/15/13 12:09 PM
Just a quick question... on the VML, did you remember to run the "Migrate VS-VML to IX-VMAC" command?
Posted By: TelecomGirl Re: ECS/VMAC MW Lights - 03/15/13 02:09 PM
If I could curse right here, I would! Thanks so much. I totally forgot to do that. All the VMAC installs I have done the last 5-6 years were VMACs to start with... I haven't done a migration in forever and forgot that step. I sure hope it solves my problem! On my way to the customer site.....

Thanks, Keighlar!
Posted By: Keighlar Re: ECS/VMAC MW Lights - 03/15/13 02:55 PM
*fingers crossed*

I hope so, too! Good luck.
Posted By: JBean3329 Re: ECS/VMAC MW Lights - 03/15/13 11:33 PM
Quote
Is there a way to manually use the MW on/off code (519ext) to check the signalling/lamps? In my office ECS, if I attempt to dial 519ext, I get a busy. I thought the feature codes worked on any type of station (not just SLT). I can dial *ext and get a VM box, but can't dial 519ext to light a lamp.

If you configure an analog port as a voice mail port, you can use the MWL codes. A normal SLT/FAX port can't pass these codes.

Also, on your VMAC card Integration tab, be sure to change the trunk ID digits from 3 (ADIX) to 4 (ECS) and verify your mailbox ranges match your switch extension ranges for 3 or 4 digit mailboxes.
Posted By: TelecomGirl Re: ECS/VMAC MW Lights - 03/16/13 02:25 AM
Well... it wasn't migration! I migrated and still had the same issue. After much consternation, it was found that one of the VM ports had somehow got prime line assigned. Once I removed that, the MW worked fine. And, FWIW... even without migrating, it seems as though everything was working. (I had already changed the trunks to 4 digit, and the stations all matched the ECS)

Thanks, Keighlar and JB for your (always!) spot-on input!

JB- is it only the MW feature codes that can't be passed by a regular station port? I'm pretty sure that I've used the 5xx codes from a digital station to activate certain features that didn't appear on a designated key.
Posted By: JBean3329 Re: ECS/VMAC MW Lights - 03/16/13 03:50 PM
AS far as I know, the voice mail codes and the list of the SLT only features dealing with speed dialing, through calling, etc. won't work from a digital port.
© Business Phone System Forums