sundance-communications.com
Posted By: Mr. 'T' A long T1 run - 07/24/06 06:47 AM
Hi..Qwest put in a T1 to one of our customers locations recently. The customer site is a construction trailer that will be there over the two years of the project. The problem is, they couldn't get close to the trailerr so they used the closet pedestal they could get to. They then came out of it and did the old "T on-a-stick", (NIU on a post). From there the customer ran his own Cat3 cable to their trailer. This run, (here's the scary part), is around 1500'. I know I shouldn't be going more than 650' but is there a way to put a T1 extender on this circuit to boost the signal? The add'l problem is, there is no power at the NIU location. Thanks
Posted By: Mr. 'T' Re: A long T1 run - 07/24/06 07:07 AM
Additionally, the Qwest Tech suggested pulling another Cat3 to totally split the pairs.
Posted By: justbill Re: A long T1 run - 07/24/06 07:15 AM
T1's are pretty forgiving I'd just say try it and if it doesn't work go to a split shielded cable of at least 22 gauge. What you put on the end of the T1 can make a difference, if they have a good CSU with line build out I'm sure you'll be ok.
Posted By: EV607797 Re: A long T1 run - 07/24/06 07:43 AM
Just another suggestion: You should use two pair (or more) buried drop wire that is 22 gauge and shielded for this application if possible.
Posted By: Kyle Re: A long T1 run - 07/24/06 10:09 AM
Good luck, but I seriously doubt it will work. The distance is just too far from the output of the NIU to your equipment. You'll probably have to get Qwest to move their demarc.

We had a T1 run in a hospital that measured about 1000 feet. We split binders & everything with no luck. We had to put a CSU in the middle of it in the IDF to make it work.
Posted By: Mr. 'T' Re: A long T1 run - 07/28/06 05:44 AM
Follow up..I did an actual measurement of the run and it topped at 1700'..We went ahead and did the the two seperate cable pull, and 'lo and behold' the darn thing works. The only thing I did was play with the 'LBO' on my routers(Cisco 17xx) internal CSU.
Posted By: djweis Re: A long T1 run - 07/29/06 04:58 PM
I'm not encouraging you to modify LEC facilties, but it's probably HDSL2 on the other side of the NIU. Take it off the pole, move it to the trailer, and use your other cable to extend the HDSL2 side, not the DSX-1 side.
Not that I've ever done that, but in case I get the urge I have a 4 slot mounting with the variations in HDSL4, HDSL2, and ADC HLXR cards "just in case".
Posted By: EV607797 Re: A long T1 run - 07/29/06 06:20 PM
I was waiting for someone else to make that suggestion. Of course I would never do anything like that but I know someone who might have done it! 1,700 feet of category 3 cable is a LOT better than the thousands of feet of category zero cable used to deliver the circuit to the premises.
Posted By: johnp Re: A long T1 run - 07/31/06 09:03 PM
Ed,

I went to a customer's site that had their demarc moved. The tech there said he couldn't move their smart jack, 15 minutes later it was at the new demarc. Never leave the keys! LOL
Posted By: EV607797 Re: A long T1 run - 07/31/06 09:58 PM
You got that one right John! Category "zero" has worked forever and a few hundred more feet doesn't mean a hill of beans. I just wish we could talk the Telco people into moving move the problem child (channel termination equipment) further down the line, especially since they aren't the ones running the wire.

Keys? What language u speekin?
Posted By: johnp Re: A long T1 run - 08/01/06 04:45 AM
Ed,

You must be psychic. smile I remember now on that move screw driver to the cover allowed access to mounting bolts.
Posted By: CnGRacin Re: A long T1 run - 08/01/06 01:11 PM
Quote
Originally posted by djweis:
I'm not encouraging you to modify LEC facilties, but it's probably HDSL2 on the other side of the NIU. Take it off the pole, move it to the trailer, and use your other cable to extend the HDSL2 side, not the DSX-1 side.
Not that I've ever done that, but in case I get the urge I have a 4 slot mounting with the variations in HDSL4, HDSL2, and ADC HLXR cards "just in case".
But... Eh... whuh.... HEY! I'm a Telco person and that's... That... that’s illegal! YOU CAN’T DO THAT!!!!! eek

Or I wouldn't encourag you to admit that! wink I might have done that a time or two when I was a cable and data dude. cool
Posted By: elsiete Re: A long T1 run - 11/07/06 10:47 PM
If you run 1500' of I.W., In effect that'll be a 3kFt loop from last repeater. Signal falloff will be at the ragged edge causing the customer intermittent erros, LOS, and a host of other signaling issues. Since they are at a construction trailer, the customer should get hold of the engineer and have 1.1 placed at the trailer that way they could get rid of the I.W.
© Business Phone System Forums