sundance-communications.com
Posted By: Anonymous Centurylink and Wifi Modems - 08/25/19 04:46 PM
Hi, I have my internet service with centurylink, and does anyone know if they provide or sell a modem with battery backup, for when the power goes out, my phones will still work?
I have full VoIP service, and lose them when there is no power. I got rid of my POTS line and wondering if anyone knew. Thankyou
Posted By: Professor Shadow Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems - 08/25/19 05:11 PM
Are you speaking Fiber or DSL? Generally Fiber has battery backup and DSL doesn't. Any luck contacting them in your area?

Centurylink North Carolina
Posted By: Anonymous Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems - 08/25/19 05:19 PM
Originally Posted by Professor Shadow
Are you speaking Fiber or DSL? Generally Fiber has battery backup and DSL doesn't. Any luck contacting them in your area?

Centurylink North Carolina
Hi and thank you for your response, the service I have is DSL and talked to the internet technicians and they told me to call customer service so I will try that tomorrow, thank you again.
Posted By: dexman Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems - 08/25/19 08:22 PM
If their answer is no, consider purchasing a decent battery backup unit. Tripp Lite is one such manufacturer.
Posted By: Anonymous Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems - 08/25/19 11:38 PM

Originally Posted by dexman
If their answer is no, consider purchasing a decent battery backup unit. Tripp Lite is one such manufacturer.
I thank you sir, I will check with them and then find if they have one available, then I might try your suggestion thank you again.
Posted By: dexman Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems - 08/25/19 11:57 PM
smile
Posted By: Anonymous Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems - 08/26/19 01:09 AM
Originally Posted by Southernphoneman
Originally Posted by dexman
If their answer is no, consider purchasing a decent battery backup unit. Tripp Lite is one such manufacturer.
I thank you sir, I will check with them and then find if they have one available, then I might try your suggestion thank you again.
Kind sir, is this something I might be able to consider?[img]https://encrypted-tbn2.gstatic.com/shopping?q=tbn:ANd9GcTm4icEdhlfiGLz9CX9R5Spo_hJMWWn9_DhfQeb2jnbsIiabXVlO1-hhFNwZs7-VBaCgAj8zDfQgw&usqp=CAc[/img][Linked Image from cdn.cnetcontent.com] *Edit* sorry about the large photo, if not allowed moderator please remove and I will then put another one up thank you.
Posted By: hitechcomm Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems - 08/26/19 01:18 AM
That is more a surge protector not a UPS.
Posted By: dexman Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems - 08/26/19 03:05 AM
It does offer battery backup. Depending upon the power consumption of the modem, it could hold it up for a while. Check the modem's power draw and figure out how long it can be supported by the UPS.
Posted By: ffej010 Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems - 08/26/19 03:06 AM
If it is DSL, your phone line should still be coming from a local CO or terminal that has backup power. If you lose power at your residence, sure the modem may go down, but your POTS line should still function as you should still have -48VDC on it.
Posted By: Professor Shadow Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems - 08/26/19 03:48 AM
In the example you show here are the numbers.

The top line represents how many watts are being used, that is the total power of everything you have plugged in.
Once you have the total power drain on the UPS (batteries) the second line tell you how long until the UPS will last (under optimum conditions)


[Linked Image]

For a example, most hair dryers draw 1500 watts. If you look up 1500 watts...oops not enough power.

Another example: My laptop draws 120 watts, so that would be just under 7-1/2 minutes. Great...oops forgot the Modem...and the Wireless Router...hope I don't need to print anything!

So, you can see how it all affects the length of time you can stay on-line.
Posted By: dexman Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems - 08/26/19 09:19 PM
Originally Posted by ffej010
If it is DSL, your phone line should still be coming from a local CO or terminal that has backup power. If you lose power at your residence, sure the modem may go down, but your POTS line should still function as you should still have -48VDC on it.

The OP noted that the POTS line was disconnected and the only services are DSL & VoIP. The UPS is to extend uptime during a power outage. smile
Posted By: Anonymous Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems - 08/26/19 09:20 PM
Originally Posted by ffej010
If it is DSL, your phone line should still be coming from a local CO or terminal that has backup power. If you lose power at your residence, sure the modem may go down, but your POTS line should still function as you should still have -48VDC on it.
Thank you and Hi, the phone part of the equasion is why I would be looking for the back up as I have done away with the POTS and now have VoIP so it would end up being back up for the phones them selves until the power came back on thank you for your response.
Posted By: Anonymous Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems - 08/26/19 09:25 PM
Originally Posted by Professor Shadow
In the example you show here are the numbers.

The top line represents how many watts are being used, that is the total power of everything you have plugged in.
Once you have the total power drain on the UPS (batteries) the second line tell you how long until the UPS will last (under optimum conditions)


[Linked Image]

For a example, most hair dryers draw 1500 watts. If you look up 1500 watts...oops not enough power.

Another example: My laptop draws 120 watts, so that would be just under 7-1/2 hours. Great...oops forgot the Modem...and the Wireless Router...hope I don't need to print anything!

So, you can see how it all affects the length of time you can stay on-line.
Thankyou for this chart. what I would need this for is telephone only, as I have nothing but VoIP and during the event of a power outage I would have only one phone (a western electric 2500) and a digital to analogue converter(an obihai200) so I would just be needing backup for this only for the duration of the power outage as anything else would drain the battery life so thats what I would need to figure out i guess is one obihai200 box and one 2500 telephone as well as the modem thank you for your help
Posted By: Mercenary Roadie Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems - 08/26/19 09:55 PM
Originally Posted by Professor Shadow
In the example you show here are the numbers.

The top line represents how many watts are being used, that is the total power of everything you have plugged in.
Once you have the total power drain on the UPS (batteries) the second line tell you how long until the UPS will last (under optimum conditions)


[Linked Image]

For a example, most hair dryers draw 1500 watts. If you look up 1500 watts...oops not enough power.

Another example: My laptop draws 120 watts, so that would be just under 7-1/2 hours. Great...oops forgot the Modem...and the Wireless Router...hope I don't need to print anything!

So, you can see how it all affects the length of time you can stay on-line.


Run time is in minutes, not hours. So at 120 watts, it will last about 7.5 minutes
Posted By: Professor Shadow Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems - 08/26/19 11:08 PM
Originally Posted by Mercenary Roadie
Run time is in minutes, not hours. So at 120 watts, it will last about 7.5 minutes
Yeah...that's what I said 7.5 minutes...after correcting my error. Thank you Sir.
Posted By: Professor Shadow Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems - 08/26/19 11:22 PM
Originally Posted by Southernphoneman
Thankyou for this chart. what I would need this for is telephone only, as I have nothing but VoIP and during the event of a power outage I would have only one phone (a western electric 2500) and a digital to analogue converter(an obihai200) so I would just be needing backup for this only for the duration of the power outage as anything else would drain the battery life so thats what I would need to figure out i guess is one obihai200 box and one 2500 telephone as well as the modem thank you for your help

Only two devices...your Obihai 200 and your Modem. Unless your 2500 set plugs into the wall for AC, it does not consume power.

You state: "I would just be needing backup for this only for the duration of the power outage." Exactly how long do you plan on having your power out? Two hours...two days...two weeks? As far as I know it's almost impossible to tell how long the power is going to be out. It would be great though, I'd plan on going to Hawaii or something. 👍
Posted By: mbhydro Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems - 09/02/19 04:53 PM
Don't forget that even if you have a UPS at your house, you would be dependent on the Cable Company having power to their various distribution amplifier locations.

If they don't have a battery backup or get a portable gen set hooked in after a power outage you don't have service anyway.

.
Posted By: hawk82 Re: Centurylink and Wifi Modems - 09/03/19 02:26 PM
Originally Posted by mbhydro
Don't forget that even if you have a UPS at your house, you would be dependent on the Cable Company having power to their various distribution amplifier locations.

If they don't have a battery backup or get a portable gen set hooked in after a power outage you don't have service anyway.

.
Truth. Spectrum in my part of the state has absolutely ZERO batteries in their gray powersupply enclosures on the utility poles. Only way you might have service in a power outage is if you live right near the cableco hub (typical concrete cellphone style building). The line amps for those trunks are inside the hub which has generator power. But as you get further down the road, they don't have enough power to service.
© Business Phone System Forums