atcomsystems.ca/forum
Posted By: env guy Bell Sys 1A2 400D KTU - 07/17/06 09:20 AM
I am an environmental consultant. I have a client with an old, probably defunct telephone panel board with numerous 1A2 400D KTU cards.

My issue is that a green colored liquid is leaking (very slowly) from the cards and we have been unable to identify its source or the exact make-up of the liquid.

Any help or insight would be greatly appreciated.

Ideally an MSDS of the source liquid would be optimal, but at this point I'll take any info I can get.
Posted By: justbill Re: Bell Sys 1A2 400D KTU - 07/17/06 12:58 PM
From all the cards? I can't think of any liquid of any kind in these cards. Are you sure it's not just moisture and corrosion? Copper, moisture and presence of battery cause a green looking gunk.
Posted By: env guy Re: Bell Sys 1A2 400D KTU - 07/17/06 01:14 PM
we are looking into that and not coming up with a moisture source. that may be the way to go, potentially analyzing a bulk sample for Cu to see if it is the primary constituent, aside from water.

I also have a photo. Let me see if I can attach it.
Posted By: env guy Re: Bell Sys 1A2 400D KTU - 07/17/06 01:59 PM
not seeing a quick way to attach. am I missing a shortcut? I have a pick with the liquid visible.
Posted By: justbill Re: Bell Sys 1A2 400D KTU - 07/17/06 02:15 PM
I'm not good with the picture thing. I know you have to have a host and link it but that's about all I know. I sure someone will help out in a bit if not I'll see if I can get someone to help ya.

Is it coming from a particular part of the card? those things are nothing but relays, resisters, diodes, and capacitors that's about it, might be a transistor or two.
Posted By: env guy Re: Bell Sys 1A2 400D KTU - 07/17/06 02:18 PM
That is probably it, but I have no familiarity with the equipment.

If you have an email address, I could send the pic direct. One photo in .jpg format.

The email tab above your postings is set to private.