atcomsystems.ca/forum
Posted By: MonteSSman42 Message light & VMBOX button - 07/09/04 07:03 AM
I work for a small business as a network admin / web designer / computer tech (if it plugs into the wall and has a pcb, its my job), and I recently installed a partner II phone system, and a partner mail system. I am new to phone systems, and I have 2 questions. First off, when a message is left in a mail box, the message indicator does not turn on on the extension. Is there some kind of configuration option for the light that I'm not aware of? Secondly, I haven't been able to program a vmbox button, because to program the button, you need to enter INTERCOM 777 , and the intercom button happens to be the same button as the central tel program button, so when I press it, it sends me back to central config.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, these are the last 2 problems I have.

Thanks, Ryan
Posted By: Touch Tone Tommy Re: Message light & VMBOX button - 07/09/04 07:10 AM
First, make sure that the Message lights actually work. They were kind of a problem on the MLS series sets. At an extension, press Feature-09-XX (where XX is the extension number of the set that you are at), and see if the light comes on. Feature-10-XX to turn it back off. Otherwise, you're looking at other issues with the voice mail.

To program a "messages" button on a phone through centralized telephone programming, first it's Feature-00, Left Intercom Twice, Right Intercom Once, then the extension number of the phone you want to program, press the button to be programmed, Left Intercom button, 777. Now it's pick another button to program on the same extension, or Right Intercom to get back to Centralized Programming, and then another extension number, or Left Intercom button to get back to System Programming, or Feature 00 to quit.
Posted By: MonteSSman42 Re: Message light & VMBOX button - 07/09/04 07:21 AM