atcomsystems.ca/forum
Posted By: Evangelist Need help adding new phones.... - 08/12/04 11:48 AM
Greetings, I am an Systems Engineer turned Evangelist asked to take over computers and phones. Reading docs on Nortel MICS 5.0 that I have for my 6.0, hope that there are similar. I can't find how to add a new phone to the system. I wired it in, toned out and tested for voltage, all there. I used a known good phone. Is there a way to tell the switch to start using ext. 241?
Posted By: nfcphoneman Re: Need help adding new phones.... - 08/12/04 01:54 PM
The system should automatically recognize the phone and assign the extension number to it, if everything is wired correctly.

Try putting the phone on a jack at the backboard and see if it works there.

The 5.0 manual should be pretty close for your basic needs, such as adding a set.
Posted By: Test-ok Re: Need help adding new phones.... - 08/12/04 02:36 PM
did you cycle the power after adding the new phone?
Posted By: Evangelist Re: Need help adding new phones.... - 08/12/04 04:15 PM
No, I guess i should?

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by test-ok:
did you cycle the power after adding the new phone?</font>
Posted By: Evangelist Re: Need help adding new phones.... - 08/12/04 04:21 PM
Cycled, nada

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Evangelist:
No, I guess i should?

</font>
Posted By: Evangelist Re: Need help adding new phones.... - 08/12/04 04:23 PM
Sorry, what's a backboard?

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by nfcphoneman:
The system should automatically recognize the phone and assign the extension number to it, if everything is wired correctly.

Try putting the phone on a jack at the backboard and see if it works there.

The 5.0 manual should be pretty close for your basic needs, such as adding a set.

</font>
Posted By: dtmf Re: Need help adding new phones.... - 08/12/04 04:32 PM