atcomsystems.ca/forum
Posted By: Randy H Seemingly odd T7316E behaior on a BCM400 - 12/23/13 05:24 PM
I've just started at a new company and they have a Nortel BCM400 which I've never worked with before ... so I apologize if this question is Nortel 101 ...
They have the T7316E handsets all over the office setup in such a way that if you unplug one from the system, the DID goes dead and reports an error to incoming carriers (i.e. if you call from an AT&T cell phone, it advises you to call 611, which is AT&T cellular customer service). As soon as you plug the phone back in, the calls ring right through.
Why does this happen instead of routing the call directly to vmail, or just ringing a phantom line? Is it normal for a Nortel system to require a physical handset to be connected in order to handle the call?

I've gone through the element manager and nothing is jumping out at me to change this behavior, so any insight into this 'feature' would be a huge help.

Thanks
"DID" numbers are directed to individual TELEPHONES. If you unplug it where would expect it to go?
Posted By: Randy H Re: Seemingly odd T7316E behaior on a BCM400 - 12/24/13 02:53 PM
Perhaps I'm a little naïve with regards to Nortel gear, but I would expect it to continue down the call path designated in the system.

DID's may be directed to handsets, but they're terminated at the PBX (at least in my mind). The voicemail, and call handling configuration is not related to, or controlled by the handset ... so it seems counter intuitive that unplugging a handset from the wall would result in an origin carrier "feature not supported" message when the PBX has other options (not even a PBX generated message).