Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Hello

I emigrated to Maple Ridge, British Columbia last November. I've worked as a labourer on a building-site since then.

I used to work as an engineer installing and maintaing pbx systems, e.g. Tie, Phillips, Mitel, Panasonic and so on.

I'm now looking for an entry-level job back into engineering but am not making much progress, possibly because of the length of time out of a technical role.

Does anyone know of a company that would let me do unpaid work over the week-ends with a view to gaining experience? Any advice would be appreciated.

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada

Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

I live and work in Lloydminster Alberta which is on the east side of Alberta, so it is a long way away. You should be able to find someone in Vancouver, or in the Fraser Valley that could help you out. The other thing is sit down with the telephone book and start calling. When we moved to Edmonton years ago that is how I started in the industry. Moved my family to a new city, job that was lined up fell through, so sat down with the phone book had 3 jobs and 4 come and see me. The one thing that I learned is be HONEST it goes a long way. If you can do something say so if not don't If the economy in BC is anything like it is in Alberta, there should not be a problem finding a job. Good luck.

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Thanks for your advice and support Wayne.