Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
OP Offline
Already learning a lot! I love this place.. laugh

Okay, a couple of more questions.

- On the butt set I have, there's two plastic tubes that run up and down the length of the cord. I've seen it on other sets as well. What are they for?

- Related to the butt sets, when I've been looking at them online, I see some that aren't supposed to interfere with DSL. If I remember reading right, it has something to do with voltages. Could someone explain further? What happens if it were to connect a butt set to a line with DSL on it? Does it just drop the DSL connection? Is there potential for equipment damage? What about connecting it to a data circuit, such as a 2 wire T-1?

I printed off a bunch of Wikipedia articles yesterday, but haven't had a chance to go through them yet. So I'm sure once I do, I'll have even more questions.

Thanks again!
Scott

Complete noob.
Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada

Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Moderator-1A2, Cabling
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
If you mean the plastic tubes on the cords, I believe they're just there to keep the cords from tangling. You slide them down and that straightens the cords out.

An off-hook Butt set is like a telephone. If you hook a new telephone up to a line that has DSL and don't put a filter on it, you will interfere with the DSL signal (reduce the speed). You won't damage the equipment but you won't help the circuit any.

If you connect a butt set to one side of a 4 wire T-1 line and you will knock down the line. A 2 Wire T-1 line is a form of DSL and I imagine you will interfere with the speed of the circuit.