Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#252369 02/06/08 08:06 AM
OP Offline
Hiya Folks,

this is my first time posting! One of the companies I provide computer support for has an office building with multiple offices inside including two large workrooms divided into cubicles.

One morning the receptionist went to log into the network but couldn't. The error showed 'network cable unplugged'.

I was called out and checked that her cable was plugged in to the jack which it was. The entire building was up/online and running except for the front 4 offices.

Each of the front 4 offices had the network cable unplugged error. Each office was wired straight back to the switch. All the other offices on the same switch were working fine.

The switches go to an 8 port router which had 4 empty ports.

These are the things I tried:

1)rebooting the server
2)rebooting the switch
3)moved the 4 ports on the router to 4 new ports
4)made sure there were no vlan's set up , they were all on the same ip network

I can see no central point of failure for those 4 offices out of the whole building since they are all wired straight back to the switch. The whole rest of the building was up and working fine!

I did not do the original wiring in this building and absolutely nothing has a label.

After 4 hours of being down the 4 office computers came back up online as mysteriously as they went down.

I just ordered a cable toner and am going to label everything. In the meantime trying to figure out why this happened is really bothering me.

If anyone has any ideas or suggestions , I would love to hear them.

thanks!

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada

Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!