web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
OP Offline
I've already connected a 50 pair wire btw two buildings and on either end have two PortaSystems Gas filled punch down blocks. The wire is outdoor rated and I also put Plastic conduit around it for added protection. It's buried over 2' in the ground and I have the metal sheath grounded to 3 lightning rods on both buildings. I am still getting "spikes" from lightning cause it is taking out my Merlin Legend MLX-16DP phones at about 3/storm. I would have thought those expensive PortaSystem punch down blocks would take care of it but I am a novice and I guess I need additional lightning protection. Please Help and try to use whole words because I am not in this field and don't know all that shorthand "jargon" on the other posts. Thanks for the help!

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada

Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

First question I have, is the phone system grounded to the same source as the cable sheath? If that answer is yes, take a volt meter and read from the power ground (you can use the ground of a grounded outlet) to your system ground, you should read near zero ohms, not more than 5 ohms. If this is also true, what voltage are your porta systems protectors? If they are the high voltage and the only thing on them are the phones use a low voltage protector. Don't use low voltage on the CO lines or anything other than your low voltage digital phones. Hope this helps

Retired phone dude