Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#585434 - 02/27/15 12:27 AM need ip address
davetel Offline
Member

Registered: 07/14/03
Posts: 1037
Loc: sbdo, ca, usa
hi guys how can i determine my customers ip address. thanks dave

Top
Google Telephone Equipment Search
#585437 - 02/27/15 02:38 AM Re: need ip address [Re: davetel]
Carl Navarro Offline

Moderator-Panasonic
***

Registered: 07/21/06
Posts: 2234
Loc: NW Ohio
IP address of what? If it's a phone, try looking at the IP address in programming or in the router. Same with hardware, or look in the manual. You might have to log into it with a default IP address like some routers.

If you get lucky and the customer has a computer on the network, then something like IPchicken works.

_________________________
Duct tape can't fix stupid, but it sure muffles the sound

Top
#585439 - 02/27/15 02:50 AM Re: need ip address [Re: davetel]
telecom guy10 Offline

Member
****

Registered: 02/04/10
Posts: 512
Loc: NAS Whidbey Island, WA
You'll also need to know whether they have a dynamic or static IP address.

Dynamic IP addresses change every few days or so, or however often the ISP configures them to.

Static IPs do not change.
_________________________
Premier Telecom | (360) 914-3000 | premiertelecom.us

Top
#585440 - 02/27/15 05:40 AM Re: need ip address [Re: davetel]
Mercenary Roadie Offline

Member

Registered: 01/06/13
Posts: 402
Loc: Santa Paula, CA
If you just want to know what the IP address of a computer on a network is, just go to the Start menu, select Run and type in CMD to open a command prompt window. Then type IPCONFIG in the window and hit enter. It will show you your IP address for that computer.

If you want to know what your Public IP address is go to www.whatismyip.com and it will show you the IP address assigned to your modem at that moment if you have a dynaminc address from your ISP or it will show you your permanent IP address if you have a static address from your IP.
_________________________
Patrick T. Caezza
Santa Paula, CA 93060
C-7 - Low Voltage System Contractor - Lic# 992448

Top
#585502 - 02/28/15 01:09 AM Re: need ip address [Re: davetel]
davetel Offline
Member

Registered: 07/14/03
Posts: 1037
Loc: sbdo, ca, usa
yes it is for the computer so it can be entered into the call pilot. very helpful. thank you, dave

Top
#585524 - 02/28/15 06:31 PM Re: need ip address [Re: davetel]
RonP Offline

Member
*****

Registered: 02/16/08
Posts: 577
Loc: Depew, NY
At the computer in question, open the command utility and enter ipconfig. It will show you the current IP address of that pc. It will not tell you if the address is dynamic or static however..
_________________________
All-Pro Communications
Buffalo, NY
www.allprocomm.com

Top
#585526 - 02/28/15 07:45 PM Re: need ip address [Re: davetel]
skip555 Online   content

Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****

Registered: 01/06/04
Posts: 6453
Loc: Sarasota FL
at the PC go to network settings to see if its static or dynamic
_________________________
Skip
------------------------------------

Serving SW and West central Fl since 1984

Top
#585529 - 02/28/15 08:33 PM Re: need ip address [Re: davetel]
nameless Offline

Moderator-Samsung
*****

Registered: 06/28/06
Posts: 2435
Loc: Brisbane, Australia
Ipconfig /all well show more information.
Look for a line which days dhcp server ip address.
If it's there is dynamic, if not then is static.

It's also possible to have the same ip assigned all the time.

Top
#585673 - 03/04/15 09:28 AM Re: need ip address [Re: davetel]
93mdk93 Offline
Member

Registered: 03/12/08
Posts: 461
Loc: Pottstown, PA
Most DHCP servers will continue to feed a MAC address the same IP if it's available so you're probably pretty safe unless it's a network with lots of adds/moves/changes.
_________________________
"There is one thing and only one thing in which it is granted to you to be free in life, all else being beyond your power: that is to recognize and profess the truth." - Leo Tolstoy

Top
#586257 - 03/17/15 10:23 AM Re: need ip address [Re: davetel]
Toshiba Bob Offline

Member

Registered: 02/24/05
Posts: 984
Loc: Stow, Ohio
I at times have use "Advanced IP Scanner" with my laptop to discover the ip address of the telephone system or VM.

Top
#608224 - 02/24/17 02:29 AM Re: need ip address [Re: davetel]
donriley Offline
Member

Registered: 12/26/16
Posts: 22
Loc: Canada
First of all, you need to know if their IP address is dynamic or static. Next, if you can use your customer’s computer then you can check the IP via ipchicken or ipchickenhawk.

Top
#608240 - 02/24/17 08:04 AM Re: need ip address [Re: donriley]
upstateny Offline
Moderator-ESI, Shoretel
***

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 2502
Loc: Albany, N.Y. USA
Originally Posted By: donriley
First of all, you need to know if their IP address is dynamic or static. Next, if you can use your customer’s computer then you can check the IP via ipchicken or ipchickenhawk.


I think he may have figured it out in the last 23 months thumbsup
_________________________
John Corrigan
New Phone Systems and Service

Top
#609666 - 04/11/17 05:00 AM Re: need ip address [Re: upstateny]
donriley Offline
Member

Registered: 12/26/16
Posts: 22
Loc: Canada
Sorry didn't notice the time span

Top
#609681 - 04/11/17 06:58 PM Re: need ip address [Re: davetel]
Arthur P. Bloom Offline
Member
*****

Registered: 09/20/06
Posts: 3058
Loc: Shelter Island, New York
We are victims of "Provide the answer and never hear a thank-you from the OP" syndrome.
_________________________
Arthur P. Bloom
"30 years of faithful service...15 years on hold"

www.wiringenclosures.com

Top

Moderator:  MooreTel, tito1411 
Refurbished Phones & Equipment Search
TARGETED LEADS Telephone Installers, System Installation & Phone System Sales!
Technician Search, enter State or Zip Code
Shout Box

FREE DESI Labeling System Software!
FREE DESI Labeling Software - Click Here!
Most Recent 5 Post
3300 Answer Points
by PhoneN3WB
05:19 PM
How to set up LUADS door phone on IP Office 500 v2?
by Othman
03:30 PM
Charleston and then Home
by Derrick
02:41 PM
Installer Requested in AZ
by usedphones
01:03 PM
Lucent Page Pac D20 help
by EV607797
10:28 AM
Who's Online
33 registered (newtecky, OBT, mbhydro, conxtel, justbill, PhoneN3WB, TelDog, mongo5150, paulw, Touch Tone Tommy, Hnas61, JBean3329, Yoda, DND ON, Dwight, usedphones, oobie, skip555, hbiss, walterv, Othman, msnell, Central Coast Tom, BTS01, Derrick, RONAROUND, Drathus, hitechcomm, www.telcom1.net, royb, nonameyet, 2 invisible), 751 Guests and 603 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Tech Support Line 1.800.766.3425
Over the Phone Tech Support for your Phones and Business Phone Systems
(Views)Popular Topics
Ask the person below you a game. 7809932
Pictures of ugly work II 5271788
Just for Jokester #12 1696972
Just for Jokester #13 1394675
Just for Jokester #14 1119052
New Members: Post Here 946640
Constructive Criticism 915326
Pictures of Ugly Work IV 914149
Just for Jokester #11 767128
So let's Play a Game "Who am I ?" 720412
Newest Members
Othman, Vlad93, branmh, C.Ray, AbeC
48128 Registered Users
Forum Stats
48128 Members
59 Forums
89278 Topics
609905 Posts

Max Online: 4713 @ 04/02/14 11:57 AM
Today's Birthdays
DCSteven944, markgoth36, smithstelephones, thedoctorOH1
Top Posters (30 Days)
John807 42
hbiss 39
Rcaman 30
Arthur P. Bloom 22
dexman 21
justbill 19
Silversam 18
Mercenary Roadie 16
hitechcomm 15
nameless 12
Free Voip phone with every line!
FREE Voip Phone - Click Here!
Ad Spot #4 for sale call 1-800-766-3425
Free Phone Repair Diagnostic

Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2016




Trusted Partners
Sitemap