Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#585434 - 02/27/15 05:27 AM need ip address  
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,042
davetel Offline
Member
davetel  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,042
sbdo, ca, usa
hi guys how can i determine my customers ip address. thanks dave

Google Telephone Equipment Search
#585437 - 02/27/15 07:38 AM Re: need ip address [Re: davetel]  
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,237
Carl Navarro Online content
Moderator-Panasonic
Carl Navarro  Online Content

Moderator-Panasonic
***

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,237
NW Ohio
IP address of what? If it's a phone, try looking at the IP address in programming or in the router. Same with hardware, or look in the manual. You might have to log into it with a default IP address like some routers.

If you get lucky and the customer has a computer on the network, then something like IPchicken works.



Duct tape can't fix stupid, but it sure muffles the sound
#585439 - 02/27/15 07:50 AM Re: need ip address [Re: davetel]  
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 517
telecom guy10 Online content
Member
telecom guy10  Online Content

Member
****

Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 517
Asheville, NC, USA
You'll also need to know whether they have a dynamic or static IP address.

Dynamic IP addresses change every few days or so, or however often the ISP configures them to.

Static IPs do not change.


Premier Telecom | Used Telecom and Networking Equipment |
(828) 378-0010 | http://stores.ebay.com/premiertelecomofwashington
#585440 - 02/27/15 10:40 AM Re: need ip address [Re: davetel]  
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 409
Mercenary Roadie Offline
Member
Mercenary Roadie  Offline

Member

Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 409
Santa Paula, CA
If you just want to know what the IP address of a computer on a network is, just go to the Start menu, select Run and type in CMD to open a command prompt window. Then type IPCONFIG in the window and hit enter. It will show you your IP address for that computer.

If you want to know what your Public IP address is go to www.whatismyip.com and it will show you the IP address assigned to your modem at that moment if you have a dynaminc address from your ISP or it will show you your permanent IP address if you have a static address from your IP.


Patrick T. Caezza
Santa Paula, CA 93060
C-7 - Low Voltage System Contractor - Lic# 992448
#585502 - 02/28/15 06:09 AM Re: need ip address [Re: davetel]  
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,042
davetel Offline
Member
davetel  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,042
sbdo, ca, usa
yes it is for the computer so it can be entered into the call pilot. very helpful. thank you, dave

#585524 - 02/28/15 11:31 PM Re: need ip address [Re: davetel]  
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 581
RonP Offline
Member
RonP  Offline

Member
*****

Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 581
Depew, NY
At the computer in question, open the command utility and enter ipconfig. It will show you the current IP address of that pc. It will not tell you if the address is dynamic or static however..


All-Pro Communications
Buffalo, NY
www.allprocomm.com
#585526 - 03/01/15 12:45 AM Re: need ip address [Re: davetel]  
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,456
skip555 Online content
Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
skip555  Online Content

Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,456
Sarasota FL
at the PC go to network settings to see if its static or dynamic


Skip
------------------------------------

Serving SW and West central Fl since 1984
#585529 - 03/01/15 01:33 AM Re: need ip address [Re: davetel]  
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,450
nameless Offline
Moderator-Samsung
nameless  Offline
Moderator-Samsung
*****

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,450
Brisbane, Australia
Ipconfig /all well show more information.
Look for a line which days dhcp server ip address.
If it's there is dynamic, if not then is static.

It's also possible to have the same ip assigned all the time.

#585673 - 03/04/15 02:28 PM Re: need ip address [Re: davetel]  
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 461
93mdk93 Offline
Member
93mdk93  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 461
Pottstown, PA
Most DHCP servers will continue to feed a MAC address the same IP if it's available so you're probably pretty safe unless it's a network with lots of adds/moves/changes.


"There is one thing and only one thing in which it is granted to you to be free in life, all else being beyond your power: that is to recognize and profess the truth." - Leo Tolstoy
#586257 - 03/17/15 02:23 PM Re: need ip address [Re: davetel]  
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 984
Toshiba Bob Offline
Member
Toshiba Bob  Offline

Member

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 984
Stow, Ohio
I at times have use "Advanced IP Scanner" with my laptop to discover the ip address of the telephone system or VM.

#608224 - 02/24/17 07:29 AM Re: need ip address [Re: davetel]  
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 22
donriley Offline
Member
donriley  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 22
Canada
First of all, you need to know if their IP address is dynamic or static. Next, if you can use your customer’s computer then you can check the IP via ipchicken or ipchickenhawk.

#608240 - 02/24/17 01:04 PM Re: need ip address [Re: donriley]  
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,504
upstateny Online content
Moderator-ESI, Shoretel
upstateny  Online Content
Moderator-ESI, Shoretel
***

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,504
Albany, N.Y. USA
Originally Posted By: donriley
First of all, you need to know if their IP address is dynamic or static. Next, if you can use your customer’s computer then you can check the IP via ipchicken or ipchickenhawk.


I think he may have figured it out in the last 23 months thumbsup

#609666 - 04/11/17 09:00 AM Re: need ip address [Re: upstateny]  
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 22
donriley Offline
Member
donriley  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 22
Canada
Sorry didn't notice the time span

#609681 - 04/11/17 10:58 PM Re: need ip address [Re: davetel]  
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,068
Arthur P. Bloom Offline
Member
Arthur P. Bloom  Offline
Member
*****

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,068
Shelter Island, New York
We are victims of "Provide the answer and never hear a thank-you from the OP" syndrome.


Arthur P. Bloom
"30 years of faithful service...15 years on hold"


Moderated by  MooreTel, tito1411 

Refurbished Phones & Equipment Search
TARGETED LEADS Telephone Installers, System Installation & Phone System Sales!
Technician Search, enter State or Zip Code
Shout Box
FREE DESI Labeling System Software!
FREE DESI Labeling Software - Click Here!
Most Recent 5 Post
TDA backup
by Not_sirius. 06/25/17 11:12 PM
Hello Panasonic forum
by newtecky. 06/25/17 05:52 AM
Auto Attendant Conversion Table
by Andrew Boyd. 06/25/17 12:57 AM
Technician Requested
by mickeyme. 06/23/17 05:44 PM
Who's Online Now
35 registered members (Andrew Boyd, jafabs, Coral Tech, gelehu, justbill, crazysupratt, jknichols, Carl Navarro, dukane123, Touch Tone Tommy, Kissinka, Professor Shadow, goldenhtr, jab1780, newtecky, isnick, Derrick, Rcaman, Brian A, DND ON, Central Coast Tom, BTS01, hitechcomm, Dai_O, metelcom, skip555, bosco, vicbob, telecom guy10, MooreTel, JWRacedog, Hnas61, Phone_girl_NE, upstateny, 1 invisible), 659 guests, and 553 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Tech Support Line 1.800.766.3425
Over the Phone Tech Support for your Phones and Business Phone Systems
Popular Topics(Views)
Newest Members
hummerdog, Andrew Boyd, MacB-IT, ymoudden, Phone Tech 1954
48184 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics89,408
Posts610,665
Members48,185
Most Online4,713
Apr 2nd, 2014
Today's Birthdays
Carlos Sanchez, Grear, kidhines
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 46
hbiss 28
Rcaman 14
John807 11
Free Voip phone with every line!
FREE Voip Phone - Click Here!
Ad Spot #4 for sale call 1-800-766-3425
Free Phone Repair Diagnostic
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
�Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2016




Trusted Partners
Sitemap