web statisticsweb stats Business Phone Systems Tech Talk Forum - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
knagl Offline OP
OP Offline
Hi there. Brand new to this forum, and new to working on a Samsung system. Thanks in advance for any help you can provide!

Short version: how do I program an incoming trunk line on a Samsung iDCS 16 system to ring only to two specific extensions, and then go to the voicemail box of one of the extensions if nobody answers?

---------------------------------

The (very) long version:

Being the "phone guy" for a friend, I was tasked with doing some programming on an existing Samsung iDCS 16 system. I have never worked on one of these systems before, and could use some advice on the best way to set up what my friend wants.

The existing system is installed at a golf course clubhouse, and my friend is now running the restaurant in the clubhouse. They want to have a specific incoming phone company line to the system be designated for the restaurant, and have that number ring exclusively at the phone(s) in the restaurant.

Any suggestions on how to accomplish that? In some Internet searches prior to posting this, I have found some light documentation about how to do some programming (phone speed dials and the like), but I haven't found a technician's manual. Is there one out there? Also, is this programming I can do on a system phone, or do I need to hook up a computer to the system to program it?

Thank you in advance for any help you can provide.

UPDATE:

I couldn't get Samsung OfficeServ Manager to connect to this system, even with a nice old Windows XP laptop with an actual DB9 serial port which I've successfully used to communicate with other old computer systems that require a DB9 serial connection.