web statisticsweb stats Business Phone Systems Tech Talk Forum - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#525898 09/18/07 09:15 AM
OP Offline
Years ago we considered offering 3 Com solutions. I've lost site of them. I have heard mostly bad but would like more information. I know the phones are proprietary. Are there seat licences associated with adding more extensions, mailboxes and trunks? What the voice quality like?

How does 3 Com stack up to Asterisks? Features...?

Thanks,

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada

Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

#525899 09/18/07 10:35 AM
I have no first-hand knowledge of the 3-Com NBX system but what I have heard is that it uses a somewhat-customized version of sip. My understanding is that it uses a few specialized commands in order to maintain a "heartbeat" of phones and that aftermarket phones (Polycom, Snom, etc), after registering, will not work after 5 or 10 minutes (whenever the heartbeat is sent). I haven't confirmed this so take it with a grain of salt.

Version 5.0 and earlier use a highly-customized protocol that was taken from h.323. Dont expect much of anything to work with this.

The 3-com system requires 3-com switches and server gear similar to that of the shoretel system. This has to do with the way that 3com approached system features was to use IP Multicasting for shared line appearances and other messaging functions.