Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,329
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,329
Likes: 3
Yeah, but wouldn't you have to set that port up first? Isn't going to help you if you just plug an unknown PC into an unknown jack. PC wouldn't even connect, right?

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Atcom VoIP Demo
Get a VoIP Demo Today
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,276
Likes: 5
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,276
Likes: 5
You can identify a switch connection by using LLDP on most switches and if it's a Cisco CDP will give you info about the port connection. The Pockethernet does both. You can also find software for laptop that will do this but much easier with the Pockethernet.


Merritt

Business Telephones & Equipment + Commercial Audio/Video Products
Commercial Communications . . . Turner, Maine
If it was built after 1980 don't expect it to work right.
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,310
Likes: 1
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,310
Likes: 1
how about "show arp" on the switch - you get a list of ports, the IP address associated with it, and the MAC address

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,414
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,414
Likes: 1
don't think ARP would show physical ports. It just corresponds IP to MAC


Jeff Moss

Moss Communications
Computer Repair-Networking-Cabling
MBSWWYPBX, JGAE
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,310
Likes: 1
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,310
Likes: 1
Code
AAA Switch B>enable
AAA Switch B#show arp
===============================================================================
                              IP ARP
===============================================================================
IP Address      Age (min) MAC Address       VLAN-Unit/Port/Trunk Flags

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
192.168.43.15   0         b4:47:5e:f0:a0:41 VLAN#2               L
192.168.43.255  0         ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff VLAN#2               LB
192.168.1.255   0         ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff VLAN#1               LB
192.168.1.31    56        24:be:05:03:3d:b3 VLAN#1-4             D
192.168.1.47    16        24:be:05:07:7f:87 VLAN#1-5             D
192.168.1.198   81        00:80:91:b1:fe:73 VLAN#1-24            D
192.168.1.30    59        8c:ec:4b:a3:1b:1e VLAN#1-15            D
192.168.1.125   0         b4:47:5e:f0:a0:40 VLAN#1               L
192.168.1.253   319       a4:2b:b0:f1:aa:3c VLAN#1-24            D
192.168.43.13   276       00:0c:29:dd:37:9f VLAN#2-23            D
192.168.1.141   185       00:0c:29:26:9a:77 VLAN#1-23            D
192.168.1.205   35        00:80:91:b2:f0:8a VLAN#1-23            D
192.168.1.53    33        74:46:a0:c1:fc:ca VLAN#1-23            D
192.168.1.20    189       00:1d:09:81:8f:a2 VLAN#1-23            D
192.168.1.36    97        d4:ae:52:7d:6f:7e VLAN#1-23            D
192.168.1.52    8         e4:54:e8:be:7c:af VLAN#1-11            D
192.168.1.123   359       00:0c:29:dd:37:95 VLAN#1-23            D
192.168.1.203   99        88:51:fb:ea:63:37 VLAN#1-9             D
192.168.1.19    85        a8:5e:45:56:84:15 VLAN#1-23            D
192.168.1.90    87        4c:11:bf:44:1b:f8 VLAN#1-23            D
192.168.1.42    82        24:be:05:03:3d:d5 VLAN#1-8             D
192.168.43.10   68        00:e0:07:8b:4b:b2 VLAN#2-23            D
192.168.1.18    13        08:2e:5f:02:5b:f0 VLAN#1-23            D
192.168.1.89    198       38:af:29:89:3f:3e VLAN#1-19            D
192.168.1.33    195       2c:41:38:b9:9b:ca VLAN#1-24            D
192.168.1.249   179       00:80:91:76:60:56 VLAN#1-13            D
192.168.1.9     171       8c:ec:4b:6a:fa:98 VLAN#1-23            D
192.168.1.1     85        2c:b8:ed:5d:23:80 VLAN#1-23            D
192.168.43.0    0         ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff VLAN#2               LB
192.168.1.0     0         ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff VLAN#1               LB
192.168.1.8     299       e4:54:e8:bc:2f:3f VLAN#1-23            D
192.168.1.208   121       b4:b5:2f:f6:f5:7b VLAN#1-23            D
192.168.1.32    42        8c:ec:4b:a2:e8:92 VLAN#1-2             D
192.168.1.56    23        90:b1:1c:5f:d5:de VLAN#1-7             D
Total ARP entries : 34
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Flags Legend:
S=Static, D=Dynamic, L=Local, B=Broadcast
AAA Switch B#

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,733
Likes: 9
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,733
Likes: 9
Remember the original issue:

"a customer who's downsizing that wanted to disconnect phone and data connections in a vacated part of the building"

Active ports plugged into vacant locations and his standard Tone Generator and Inductive Amplifier isn't working for him.


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,329
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,329
Likes: 3
Originally Posted by Professor Shadow
Remember the original issue:

"a customer who's downsizing that wanted to disconnect phone and data connections in a vacated part of the building"

Active ports plugged into vacant locations and his standard Tone Generator and Inductive Amplifier isn't working for him.

What I would do is tag and disconnect all dark drops from a switch then put tone on a vacant jack(s) (if you have more than one toner that would really speed things up). Then find the drops back at the switch with your probe.

If your toner/probe can't work with unterminated CAT5 you need a better one! The probes with the insulated tips are junk.

What I've done also is to use my STM-8 cable mapper with several remotes plugged into several jacks. Just take the drops at the switch and connect them to the mapper one by one. When it shows a remote you found a jack.

Easy peasy.

-Hal

Last edited by hbiss; 07/23/20 04:20 PM.

CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,276
Likes: 5
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,276
Likes: 5
I think my way is easier than that. I plug cable into Pockethernet, open the app on my phone and connect to device, run test. This will give me POE info, all 4 pair + shield length and status, Link speed, switch info with switch ID and port # you're connected to and more if I wanted it. This saves me a lot of walking many times I don't even have to locate the switch.


Merritt

Business Telephones & Equipment + Commercial Audio/Video Products
Commercial Communications . . . Turner, Maine
If it was built after 1980 don't expect it to work right.
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,329
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,329
Likes: 3
I was suggesting ways to do it with equipment that he should already have. Certainly if he wanted to buy some new gear the Pockethernet sounds like a great addition.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Page 2 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,579
Posts635,617
Members49,577
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
AlohaBra, Buster, Marcel Rivera, Mr. Paul Rowe, Paul_Rowe, Ryan Hull, texdev
Newest Members
chyc, LostieWitness, djringjr, ScottRSA, Adam B
49,577 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 17
dexman 6
bobw 6
Who's Online Now
2 members (newtecky, RATHER BE FISHING), 4 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Best VoIP Phones | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5