Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Add horns to Valcom V2001-A
#636653 05/03/20 12:25 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,281
Yoda Online Content OP
Member
OP Online Content
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,281
The customer has had some Valcom horns in place and working fine for years. Paging and BGM are fed into a V-2001A page control. Just one zone, no talkback.

Recently we added 8 more horns in a new addition. Since there were so many horns and it was a couple hundred feet away from the V-2001A, I added an additional VP-2124D power supply for the new horns. The audio pair was connected to the output of the original controller with the existing horns, and sent out to the new addition. There, the new power supply was connected to the power pair of the new horns.

In this configuration, the new horns did not work. No BGM, no page. If I connect the audio pair to the addition directly to the BGM source, the new horns work fine. There just is no paging going to the new horns.

I replaced the V-2001A controller with a new one. No change. Any thoughts on a next step?

Thank you.
Jim

Telephone Equipment Search
Re: Add horns to Valcom V2001-A
Yoda #636656 05/03/20 03:03 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,564
Likes: 1
Admin
*****
Online Thinking
Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,564
Likes: 1
Is this how you have it wired?

[Linked Image]


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Re: Add horns to Valcom V2001-A
Yoda #636658 05/03/20 07:09 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,281
Yoda Online Content OP
Member
OP Online Content
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,281
That's how I would like it to be, Dean. But if connected as your diagram, then horns 6 - 10 dont work. If I connect the audio pair for horns 6 - 10 to the music source (ahead of the Valcom unit) then they all hear music. But no paging on horns 6 - 10.

Re: Add horns to Valcom V2001-A
Yoda #636659 05/03/20 08:51 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,564
Likes: 1
Admin
*****
Online Thinking
Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,564
Likes: 1
Time to call Valcom Tech support. Be sure you have a full count of all the speakers on which leg.


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Re: Add horns to Valcom V2001-A
Yoda #636660 05/03/20 11:37 PM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 482
Member
Online Shocked
Member
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 482
Are you sure they don't have a V-1095 70-Volt Expander installed?

What type of speakers did you install and how many and type was already installed?

I think you should be using a V-1904B Page Port Pre-Amp instead of the VP-2124D Power Supply. Look at the information proved on page 1, the bottom right paragraph in this document. Valcom One-way Paging System Design/Information

Last edited by Mercenary Roadie; 05/03/20 11:53 PM.

Patrick T. Caezza
Santa Paula, CA 93060
C-7 - Low Voltage System Contractor - Lic# 992448
Re: Add horns to Valcom V2001-A
Yoda #636661 05/04/20 03:08 AM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,272
Member
***
Online Content
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,272
Geeze, this couldn't be any simpler. Did you splice the new audio pair to the existing audio pair? Where and how? Any amount of money you screwed that up somehow.

There are actually three outputs on the V-2001A. One for speakers that you don't want to have background music, only paging. Then there are two identical outputs for paging and music. You could have actually used the second output on J8 for the new speakers (but not the power).

Connect your butt set on monitor to the audio pair of the new speaker run and trace it back. You will hear the music on the butt set.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Re: Add horns to Valcom V2001-A
Yoda #636664 05/04/20 12:47 PM
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 324
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 324
Likes: 1
Dean's drawing is absolutely correct. I have done this a few times. I think Hbiss is probably correct with his assessment. Roadie has a valid suggestion, but I would look to page 6 on the bottom right, to be sure that you aren't exceeding length too badly. I know that I have exceed it a few times without dire results.

Last edited by Daniel; 05/04/20 12:52 PM.

The Cloud is just someone else's computer!
Re: Add horns to Valcom V2001-A
Daniel #636672 05/04/20 04:37 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,272
Member
***
Online Content
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,272
Originally Posted by Daniel
Dean's drawing is absolutely correct. I have done this a few times. I think Hbiss is probably correct with his assessment. Roadie has a valid suggestion, but I would look to page 6 on the bottom right, to be sure that you aren't exceeding length too badly. I know that I have exceed it a few times without dire results.

If the existing speakers work then the new speakers should work if you connect the audio pair of the new run to the audio pair of the old run. Length is not critical. If you were able to make them work by connecting the audio pair directly to the BGM music source, you have all the information you need. The problem is where you have them connected. Check your work!

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Re: Add horns to Valcom V2001-A
Yoda #636713 05/07/20 12:29 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,281
Yoda Online Content OP
Member
OP Online Content
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,281
Thanks everyone. Got some other fires to put out, and expect to get back to this problem next week. I have the old V-2001A with me and will check out my connections, etc. on the bench in the meantime.

I'll let you know.
Jim

Re: Add horns to Valcom V2001-A
Yoda #638713 10/24/20 01:42 AM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,281
Yoda Online Content OP
Member
OP Online Content
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,281
I came to the Paging forum for a new problem I have, only to realize I never posted the resolution to my problem listed above. My apologies. So before I get into my next issue, here is what I found.

There were a combination of little things that all compounded the problem. There was at least one poor connection at the page horn. Once we had the lift out and found this, we checked all the new horns. After double checking all the wiring we also had the volume controls way too low on the new horns. We are using the second V-2001A for the new horns, and had to turn it up some. After a lot of tweaking, we have a working system.

Thanks for the suggestions.
Jim


Moderated by  metelcom 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Most Recent 5 Post
Kari's Law (of unintended consequences)
by Daniel - 11/24/20 10:38 PM
Comdial DXP Kari's Law
by Yucca Telecom - 11/24/20 06:06 PM
Misconfigured or Dying?
by ShiWham - 11/23/20 05:00 PM
7100
by firefighter - 11/22/20 07:32 PM
SD Card Reader
by teldata1 - 11/22/20 02:13 PM
Who's Online Now
23 members (Ruben, hitechcomm, Meyery2k, justbill, Memphisribs, RATHER BE FISHING, BobRobert, Yoda, metelcom, MooreTel, Hofman telekom, TIC, d_chats, EV607797, Mercenary Roadie, Bob3470, hbiss, Professor Shadow, JulienDB, teldata1, buttercool, dexman, Touch Tone Tommy), 194 guests, and 45 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,084
Posts637,943
Members49,385
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
AndyL, Chris Arnesen, Magic Dave
Newest Members
LukeS, RickToshibaCIX, Geochurchi, Huckleberry, mcgivor
49384 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
ABLE1 11
dexman 11
dans 7
hbiss 6
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Sold AD
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners