EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Global Test Supply
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
eCommerce website for sale!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 654
ChrisRR Offline OP
Moderator-1A2
***
OP Offline
Moderator-1A2
***
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 654
I ran into a weird one today. House I'm working at has phone service from cable company. Everything is wired with quad wire, but it's mostly all in good shape. Only a single line, so nothing on yellow/black anyway. About 4-500 feet from the house is the barn. There is an existing buried phone cable from the house to the barn, standard sort of direct burial, metal rodent shield, icky pic sort of thing. Not twisted pair, but normal quad colors.

The barn feed was already tied into the house wiring using the yellow/black wires. In my brain this meant there was probably a fault on the red/green. I slap up a couple cheap wall phones in the barn and horse arena and they seem to work fine. (To be fair, I heard dial tone and called it a win, because I was too busy with 100 other things going on. Well, I had some dead time tonight when I was there and called a friend to kill some time while waiting on some stuff to show up. Cell service is lousy at this house, and since I'm friends with the owner, I jump on the house phone. Then I hear it. That godawful sound of an unbalanced line. Argh.

So, I poke around. Clip the scotchloks off the line going to the barns and what do you know, nice and quiet line. OK, so there's some issue with a buried cable that's who knows how old... shocking.

So I try using the red/green pair.

Same result.

Try weird combinations, red/yellow, red/black, green/yellow, green/black

Same result. Noise.

I don't know what the heck possessed me to try the next thing....

I parallel the wires. Inside the house I hook ring to Red+yellow and tip to Green+black..... The far end is still only connected to the yellow/black at this point.

The line is DEAD SILENT. Not dead, it works perfectly and has no noise.

I'm stumped. It works, hooray. I'd love to know why.

Phone.com 300x250
300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,301
Likes: 5
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,301
Likes: 5
Cable modems (EMTAs) provide a combination of outputs for phone lines. On the basic two-line versions, the first jack is an RJ14, wired for up to two lines within the unit itself. The second jack is an RJ11 for only the second line.

On four-line units, the first jack is an RJ14 for lines 1/2, the second jack is an RJ11 for line 2 only, the third jack is an RJ14 for lines 3/4 and the fourth jack is an RJ11 for line 4 only.

It's very easy for the second pair to somehow get crossed with the first pair when tying into existing wiring. If the second line was live, you'd get "double dial tone", which is easy to identify and correct. If only the first line port is live, the second port (although inactive) still puts a load on the line comparable to imbalance because it is, well, imbalance. I'm willing to bet that this has something to do with your issue. I see this all the time when people use 4/C line cords to feed from the EMTA into existing wiring. Hopefully, this will give you some insight.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,638
Likes: 3
Member
****
Online Content
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,638
Likes: 3
Following what Ed said, I'm wondering if just putting a termination, like 600 ohm resister across the pair on the unused pair would have accomplished the same this.


Retired phone dude
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 654
ChrisRR Offline OP
Moderator-1A2
***
OP Offline
Moderator-1A2
***
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 654
I was careful to not cross the two outputs from the cable modem. It is connected to a Jack with a normal silver satin cord, but inside the Jack, I only wired the first pair (red/green) to the jack.

This monkey business I did was on the cable leading to the barn.

If I disconnected this cable leading to the barn, the problem went away. But we really want the phones in the barns to work for safety reasons. It is an equine facility with poor to no cell service.

I don’t understand why I’d have noise on the line using any combination of conductors on this buried cable, but the noise goes away when I parallel the conductors. I’ve always had a heck of a time posting pictures to the forums, but if I can, I will.

On the house end, I connected the red and yellow wires of the buried cable to the red of the house wiring, and the green and black of the buried cable to the green of the house wiring. At the barn end the barns wiring is connected only to the yellow and black of the buried cable. It makes no sense to me why this would work, but here we are.

Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 654
ChrisRR Offline OP
Moderator-1A2
***
OP Offline
Moderator-1A2
***
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 654
[Linked Image]

Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 654
ChrisRR Offline OP
Moderator-1A2
***
OP Offline
Moderator-1A2
***
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 654
Ever since photobucket went to crap I’ve never had any luck posting images. If any other mod knows how to fix that so it displays, be my guest.

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,688
Likes: 3
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,688
Likes: 3
[Linked Image]


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,638
Likes: 3
Member
****
Online Content
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,638
Likes: 3
Induction? From power or another source.


Retired phone dude
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,688
Likes: 3
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,688
Likes: 3
[Linked Image]


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 654
ChrisRR Offline OP
Moderator-1A2
***
OP Offline
Moderator-1A2
***
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 654
First. Thank you, Professor.

Bill, I don’t know. I don’t think there’s any AC anywhere near that cable, but who knows. It’s probably been in the ground 30-40 years.

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,301
Likes: 5
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,301
Likes: 5
My guess then is that the second pair is providing enough capacitance to 'absorb' any induced hum. This would often happen on paging adapters that were connected directly to CO lines. What we did in these instances was to connect a 'half ringer' module from a standard NID across the line to eliminate the hum. Keep in mind that inductive hum can come from the tiniest of stray voltages, especially when a line runs over long lengths of quad (non-twisted pair) wire. This drop wire is just that, shielded quad. With the sheath not grounded, it picks up just about anything out there like an antenna.
https://i.ebayimg.com/images/i/400465573437-0-1/s-l1000.jpg


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,318
Member
Online Content
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,318
Read the conductors with an ohm meter for shorts, opens and grounds.

What does it sound like with the barn inside wires disconnected?

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,321
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,321
Likes: 3
There's leakage between the red and yellow and or leakage between the black and green. Put em' together and there is no place to leak to except themselves.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 814
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 814
I agree with Hal. I bet if you took a simple VOM meter you'd see faults in that buried cable. Are the NID's one each end of this OPE properly grounded and is shield on the cable itself properly bonded?

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,638
Likes: 3
Member
****
Online Content
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,638
Likes: 3
I'd test it, but I'm with Ed.


Retired phone dude
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,295
Posts634,125
Members49,497
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
2connect, CTCINY, majortom1981, NaesNos, Not So Tech Smart, Shea Hale
Newest Members
NZAndy101, spunkysam, tn00247167, Dave McCann, Mitel Hotel
49,496 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 10
Toner 6
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
24 members (hitechcomm, nortelvoip, Nadeemkhattak, RATHER BE FISHING, Keyset6, Yoda, jsaad, Silversam, Carl Navarro, RM SYSTEMS, dexman, justbill, BobRobert, morephones, WJS, muddybl, www.telcom1.net, Touch Tone Tommy, Ruben, Coral Tech, Daniel, KRRath, JBean3329, Skunky), 392 guests, and 46 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners
landing page builder Antiransomware 300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud