Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 3 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
dexman #640223 03/07/21 04:08 AM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,020
Likes: 2
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,020
Likes: 2
About 15 years ago I ran the video install for the CNN studios in Rockefeller Center for Connie Chung and Paula Zahn.

We did the whole 9 yards - Electrical, Telephone, Data, Audio, Video.

Every desk got a telephone jack (Cat 5E), a data jac (Cat 6A) and a Video jack (RG-6).

We ran RG-6 to every desk, but the feeders to the Video amps were RG-11.

There was no problem working with the RG-11. A little stiffer. A different connector.

It all worked well and came out beautifully.

When I did Microwave we used RG-8. That was different. Much bigger. But still Coax.

Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
dexman #640226 03/07/21 11:21 AM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,026
dexman Online Content OP
Spam Hunter
*****
OP Online Content
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,026
After running the coax at the church, I did a check on PPC. Was surprised to see that the company is owned by Belden.

I asked the owner of the electronics store that I've done business with for decades if he could order a spool of the RG6 so I could use it at home.

He led me to his office and accessed the Belden website where he orders product. The PPC numbers were not recognized by the system.

I suppose Belden is treating PPC as a completely separate entity and limiting availability to industry as opposed to consumers (I don't think that Graybar or Anixter sell it). Wouldn't surprise me if the cable for both brands is produced in the same factories on the same equipment.

Perfect Flex is tri-shielded while Belden 1189A is quad. Belden 1613R is tri, but, the retailer doesn't stock it, so, he special ordered a box for me. He doesn't carry the Belden compression connectors, but, Lowes does. smile


I Love FEATURE 00
dexman #640230 03/07/21 06:49 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,324
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,324
Likes: 3
Belden also bought West Penn, a company that makes cables for the audio industry. If you don't like the competition, buy them out.

Quote
He doesn't carry the Belden compression connectors, but, Lowes does.

We use PPC connectors here. We keep it the same as the cable company although they always cut them off and install new ones even if their own guys put them on.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
dexman #640235 03/07/21 07:56 PM
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 187
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 187
It is not hard to work with, but you obviously need the larger compression connectors. Those connectors may take a little more time to push on to the cable


Telesystems technician
dexman #640240 03/08/21 10:16 AM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,026
dexman Online Content OP
Spam Hunter
*****
OP Online Content
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,026
I have read that RG11, because of its thicker design, has a larger bend radius than RG6, thus making it unsuitable for residential use. Spec sheets do confirm the larger bend radius.

For loss calculations, I suspect that couplers would attenuate. I have (4) 90 degree bends installed (cable management) as well as a coupler (baseboard jack). Whatever the amount of loss added in, all three Arris boxes are functioning properly. smile


I Love FEATURE 00
dexman #640242 03/08/21 06:33 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,324
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,324
Likes: 3
Quote
I have read that RG11, because of its thicker design, has a larger bend radius than RG6, thus making it unsuitable for residential use.

Ugggh! Stop reading that internet garbage! Unsuitable for residential use? Why, do you live in a tiny house? All cable has a minimum bend radius including 6 size cable.

Couplers? You mean F-81 barrel connectors like on wall plates? Yes they do have a loss but it's so minimal that it's not an issue.

What I have no use for are those 90 deg connectors. I believe the loss is more than a barrel, dunno. I just never liked them, maybe because a length of cable is so much cheaper.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
hbiss #640246 03/08/21 09:39 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,026
dexman Online Content OP
Spam Hunter
*****
OP Online Content
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,026
Originally Posted by hbiss
Ugggh! Stop reading that internet garbage! Unsuitable for residential use? Why, do you live in a tiny house? All cable has a minimum bend radius including 6 size cable.

-Hal

Nope...looking at manufacturer documentation.

Belden 1189A: Minimum Bend Radius - 2.9"
Belden 1523A: Minimum Bend Radius - 3.9"

While 3.9" is far better than Hardline cable's bend radius, it can be cumbersome to run in tight/confined areas.


I Love FEATURE 00
dexman #640270 03/10/21 04:43 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,324
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,324
Likes: 3
Quote
While 3.9" is far better than Hardline cable's bend radius, it can be cumbersome to run in tight/confined areas.

I can't imagine where you would be trying to stuff it into that that would be a problem. If it is, it just might be that an 11 size cable shouldn't be used or you need to make allowances for it.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
dexman #640271 03/10/21 05:16 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,026
dexman Online Content OP
Spam Hunter
*****
OP Online Content
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,026
If i were to do anything with 11, it would be between the ONT and the first splitter. However, with attenuation calculations for all branches not exceeding -10db, the need isn't there at this time. When Verizon replaces the existing Tellabs ONT with an Alcatel-Lucent, I'll revisit. smile

Here is a picture of the Tellabs ONT in the basement.

Last edited by dexman; 03/10/21 05:19 PM.

I Love FEATURE 00
dexman #640284 03/11/21 12:20 AM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,324
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,324
Likes: 3
Quote
When Verizon replaces the existing Tellabs ONT with an Alcatel-Lucent, I'll revisit.

Shouldn't make any difference,the output level should be the same. The carriers are generated by the ONT and I wouldn't be surprised if they were adjustable. You would just have to get a Verizon tech who knows what you are talking about.

If you are really serious about this save up your lunch money and get something like this:

https://www.markertek.com/product/b...8vsb-digital-qam-catv-analog-tv-analyzer

It's a nice installer's meter.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Page 3 of 5 1 2 3 4 5

Moderated by  Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,369
Posts634,565
Members49,523
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics (Views)
Today's Birthdays
Darla, tctchief, zsmilessss
Newest Members
FredSkidoo, tspa, xtrememachines, sossel, Devon Capman Sr
49,523 Registered Users
Top Posters (30 Days)
Toner 22
dexman 12
R4+Z 6
Who's Online Now
3 members (MooreTel, Curlycord, Carl Navarro), 15 guests, and 9 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Telephone Systems Canada | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5