atcomsystems.ca/forum
Posted By: edog Where can I acquire a 100-pair feeder cable? - 08/16/05 09:49 AM
I am a Network Admin for a small company, and am also in charge of telecommunications. Since I don't usually purchase telcom cabling, I am not familiar with some of the popular vendors. The vendors that I use for data cabling do not seem to carry 100-pair feeder cables.

I am in need of about 150' of 100-pair feeder cabling, for connecting a suite in a new location to the MPOE.

Any suggestions on where I can purchase this for a decent price?
You can get it at any supplier in your area, try Graybar, they are a little high but will have it. Also would you please fill out your profile.

[This message has been edited by dtmf (edited August 16, 2005).]
I do buy some things from Graybar, which is only about 5 miles from my location. They just seem to be rather expensive for someone like me who doesn't buy a lot.

[Profile completed]

[This message has been edited by edog (edited August 16, 2005).]
Look in the phone book or even do a google and I'm sure you will find a place that has better prices, you are correct they are high, that's why I don't use them but on the other hand 100 pr isn't cheap either.
Personally, I would go with four 25 pair cables instead. Yes, it is a bit more difficult to run four cables, but 25 pair is much more readily-available through more simple suppliers, like electrical supply houses. I won't be surprised when Lowes and Home Depot start carrying it.

If you have a Rexel branch in your area, I would try them. They usually stock 25 pair and will cut it to length.

------------------
Ed
---------
How come there's always enough time to go back and fix it a second time?
I may have what you need. I'll have to get the measurement. We do a lot of work for schools as well and constantly running 100 pr OSP between their buildings. email me so I have your info.

dan