atcomsystems.ca/forum
Posted By: icpeanuts who sets up the 66 blocks? - 12/03/06 03:13 PM
Do the cabling guy or the phone system guy setup the 66 blocks?

This is two different project of running the actual cables and setting up the phone system.

Thanks
Posted By: WRichey Re: who sets up the 66 blocks? - 12/03/06 03:39 PM
9 out of 10 times it better be the cabling guy.

The phone system will come with its own blocks supplied by the system vendor.

If your cabling guy does not install them then he is short changing you.
Posted By: icpeanuts Re: who sets up the 66 blocks? - 12/03/06 06:04 PM
How do you connect the 25 cables to the 66 block? I am new to this and want to find out more info. I did some search online, but it is very confusing.
Posted By: metelcom Re: who sets up the 66 blocks? - 12/03/06 06:30 PM
I'm assuming you have a punch tool and know the tp colors start with the blue pair, then orange, green, brown repeat for next 24 wires. How about a little more info in your profile so we know who you are. Also if your new at this and plan on asking many questions you may want to introduce yourself here The pro's like to know who they are helping
Posted By: icpeanuts Re: who sets up the 66 blocks? - 12/03/06 06:37 PM
Thanks for your help. yes I know the above info. For the phone cabling, If I use cat5e for phone cabling, it have 4 pairs, how many pairs do I use to connect to the 66 block? In what order do I connect them?
Posted By: metelcom Re: who sets up the 66 blocks? - 12/03/06 06:50 PM
If you don't already know this your in way over your head
https://www.cabling-design.com/references/colorcodes/25pair.shtml
Posted By: icpeanuts Re: who sets up the 66 blocks? - 12/03/06 07:07 PM
The white is the tip and the color is the ring.

There are 25 pairs the left and right of the 66 block. How are they used? When do you use the bridge clip?

In what order do I punch down the pair from the cable to the 66 block?

I want to learn and I am new. Thanks for your help.