Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#113321 01/26/11 11:18 AM
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
OP Offline
Scenario: If we get this PMS to work, we pick up 5 mid-price motels.("Several different 'Mitel' techs have tried in the past 2 years") Sound like a setup for failure? Here's what we did, and YES we fixed it. (Lite 18, 2 cabinet) (Note that all through this, I'm a consultant at home.)

First we loaded PMS emulator software on our laptop, programed an old lite15 system in the shop for PMS, and became thoroughly familiar with the software. (Been a while!)

On site, there is a constant alarm that isn't an apparent failure. Emulator gets no response from PBX. So much for the easy, 'The pbx works, what have you hosed in your PMS, Mr/Mz support person'.

Moved the 1103 to the phone room and hooked the laptop to the maintenance port. Looked at programming, PMS is turned on, dataset programming ??? but leave it for now. Port for dataset is blinking red. Tried to move PMS to a new unused port, no joy.

Cannot delete the old port, although we can re-assign PMS in 34. Suspect software is confused and holding onto the PMS somehow. No joy.

Found ANOTHER port that had apparently been programmed for a dataset in the past! Could delete that!

The card is a BNIC, that I have no love for! Darn things have teeth that fit my butt very well!, so we changed it out for a DNIC. Again, no joy.

At this point, it was 4PM and time to head home. Nothing fixed and nothing new broken, a good time to leave and sleep on it.

Today, I logged in via Team Viewer and looked at the programming trying to find ANYTHING amiss. The dataset programming was not to my liking, so I changed it to what has always worked in the past,no joy.