web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
OP Offline
Okay, here we go. New member here. This site is great! Before I ask my first question, I'll tell you a little about my experience. I'm not a professional installer. I have a career completely unrelated to telephony, BUT telephony is my passion. I've always been interested and have learned through reading, watching installs, asking questions, and studying installations. I've even done a few installs, for which I've received compliments.

AS I've learned, I've always wanted to do it right, not just make it work. I believe the Bell practices built a great infrastructure and I've always tried to follow those practices, including using the same terminology, tools, fasteners, cable, etc.

I'm here now because I've learned a TON from reading all the threads. You folks are professionals who want to practice the right way, and I'm somewhat of a novice that wants to learn the proper practices.

Here we go:

I've offered to help my friend with a small, old commercial building. He has a suite upstairs that needs a few new stations. There is currently a 25 pair homerun from the only existing single station to the telephone closet. The station uses the first pair (w/b,b) and the remaining 24 pairs are neatly folded. In the phone closet, the 25-pair cable terminates on a 66 block and the first pair is cross-connected to the CO block.

The building has no attic but the first floor does have a suspended ceiling. I pulled a few tiles and can see that the 25-pair punches through the floor of the second story and then travels through the suspended ceiling to the telephone closet.