web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
OP Offline
I'm just a hobbyist, have always loved taking apart phones and learning about the telco system, from way back when I was a kid and #5 cross-bar was state of the art!

Anyway, I have a question. What surge protection/circuit protection is built into a standard telco NID? What would be the symptoms after an overload current? How can you tell if the NID took a "hit?" In such a situation is the NID repairable and, if so, how?

Thanks!

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada

Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Johnny: The NID is provided by the customers telephone line provider, so if a problem exist with the line it is a point to test to see where might the fault be. Line provider or customer.
The Line provider should maintain the workings of the unit.
Test your line at this unit by opening up the circuit, and see
whom is responsible for the line fault.

-TJ-