Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Mped7 Offline OP
OP Offline
Hello all from a newbie here.

My office has an old AT&T/Lucent Spirit phone system with the CS308A1 controller (as well as the expansion module). It has worked trouble free for many years. Yesterday, with no cause apparent to us, we found that we could not make outgoing calls. Incoming calls were fine, but when we picked up to dial out the tones generated by the keyboard made a normal beep but would not break the dial tone. Phone co came out and the incoming lines to our controller box checked out OK. I tried re-setting (unplugging) the controller and re-setting the system to tone mode, to no avail. While doing the later, I found that if I switched all the lines to pulse mode we could make outgoing calls. This works but we would obviously prefer to work in tone mode. Any help with this issue would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Avaya IP Office Help & Support Website
IP Office Help

Avaya IP Office Help & Support Website

FAQs, documentation, videos, updates, and support for the Avaya IP Office business phone system!
Everything you need to know about installing, upgrading, and troubleshooting IP 500v2 and IPO Server Edition systems.

About the only thing I would try is connecting to the lines at the demarc with a butt set and seeing if they are OK. You could use a single line phone. If you can't access the demarc or connect to it with the plug you could pull a CO line plug from the Spirit and connect there.

If your test confirms that the lines are all right then your problem is with the KSU. At that point you are looking at replacement of an old low cost system that is way beyond it's useful life.

-Hal

CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
to program at the controller turn admin switch to on