web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
OP Offline
I have a Mitel SX-200 Light PBX that has a single incoming T1. I would like to insert Asterisk between the telco and the Mitel to handle a majority of the calls. My current hangup is that I can't seem to pull the right info out of the Mitel box to know how to configure the Asterisk box. From what I understand I need to find info on framing and encoding. So my question is twofold:

1. What information do I need?
2. How can I retrieve it?

I am a complete noob when it comes to Mitel, and would greatly appreciate any help.

Thanks,

Adam
Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada

Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Moderator-Allworx, Nisuko-Tie, Vodavi
Moderator-Allworx, Nisuko-Tie, Vodavi
Try a search in this forum using "Asterisk" as the search word. A lot of information in those threads.

If you are, indeed, a "noob" with Mitel--then you might have to pay someone to help you (train you) in the Mitel programming. It is not something that you can learn overnite. Good Luck.

Two forms you have to look in: Form 13's subform and form 42's subform

I'm a real noob too. Here is what I did.

Dial in to your PBX. (PC with a Modem & HyperTerminal with the phone number of your PBX).

Enter the username and password for your Mitel Box. (You may need to contact a Mitel Rep for this.)

Enter menu 13 & 15 to count how many T1 channels are being used.
(Esc+9 to review)
Doing this allowed me to discover a fractionalized T1 so I could setup the Channels correctly.