Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Vonage
#12075 07/13/06 05:25 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 502
jacktel Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 502
How many lines can 1 cable drop have? Have client with split MICS system {2 companies} first tenant went to vonage last week {3 lines}, Today second tenant called and wanted to convert over also,told him to call Vonage to check, but I'm wondering if anybody has run into this.

Refurbished Phones & Equipment Search
Re: Vonage
#12076 07/13/06 06:28 PM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 6,160
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 6,160
I'd be surprized if the cable provider has enough bandwidth to adequetly support the three lines there now plus internet activity. Good Luck.
2 is usually the norm that I have seen, and that has not been good quality voice communication. I've yet to see a telephone intensive business stick with vonage lines on cable or DSL, they usually switch back to pots lines after the 30 day test period.
Mark

Re: Vonage
#12077 07/13/06 07:23 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 502
jacktel Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 502
Mark Last week was my first Vonage cut-over {See phone man did it} and while it was smooth,i wondered same thing. Client tells me it is impossible to get local info,only by e-mail or tech help {India}.How can your business rely on this type of support?-------------John PS. Mark I see your in Gap,Pa. Have gone thru your area many times on family trips to Hanover. :thumb:

Re: Vonage
#12078 07/13/06 08:34 PM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 6,160
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 6,160
Jacktel, Check your PM's

Re: Vonage
#12079 07/14/06 03:45 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
I've been using Dock.net and it takes about 32K per line. We get cheap DSL here and I use Cisco boxes for the phones (not a fan of Supura boxes) and it works fine.

I had Packet8 and it worked OK but they screwed up porting the number twice and on the third time they ported the wrong number, I gave up on them, three times and still wrong is too much.


THE Bracha, old blond specialist in Rube Goldberg solutions.
Re: Vonage
#12080 07/14/06 06:30 AM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 575
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 575
We have 2 cable modems in the office. 1 is strictly for data - user browsing, Exchange, and other data infrastructure. The other modem is a motorola with 2 built-in phone lines from Optimum Voice. There's a 2 line Vonage box connected, plus up to 5 ESI Remote IP Station traffic. It's served by a wireless/wired Linksys, so our unsecured wireless access is completely separate from the data network anyway.


Rob Cashman
Customer Support Engineer
Re: Vonage
#12081 07/15/06 10:02 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 517
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 517
Use of an ITSP can be done successfully, but the client must be willing to spend the money for bandwidth and a QOS router when they are also running data applications on the same circuit. Vonage is not the carrier to use for a successful implimentation because they use consumer grade products and do not allow programming access to their hardware.


ElectSys Tech LLC
Hosted Phone Systems Solutions Provider
Allworx, Sangoma, FreePBX
Telephone & computer systems in the Jefferson City, Columbia MO area.
Re: Vonage
#12082 07/19/06 09:32 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 172
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 172
I have a customer that just switched to vonage nothing but problems she got 5 lines 2 of the lines were not working after about a hour of the tec support (from india)having me unplug and replug the router they dertimined that the device that they sent was bad they sent a nother one and when i hooked it up the had the wrong numbers assigned to the device the said that they would have to create a ticket and that it would take 48 hours the customer was not happy at all well we had to go back again and they had all the numbers mixed up it took them aout 2 hours to get it togther the customer is defenitly going to switch back

Re: Vonage
#12083 07/19/06 10:53 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
Trust the Bunnie, here is the pronouncement:

VOIP works when you have a good provider with competent customer service in America.

Finding a business grade provider is not easy and that is what you need, not Vonage, not anyone who has tech support in India.

The people in India speak their kind of English and want to please you. That is not enough to make effective customer service for technology proucts in America.

If cable modems stay up, there is a lot of bandwidth there. In this area we have a lot of down time on cable modems so that is not an effective product in this community, maybe yours.

Voip is not a bad product, you simply must have a competent voip provider and competent customer service. Good luck on finding that and when you do, send them business.


THE Bracha, old blond specialist in Rube Goldberg solutions.
Re: Vonage
#12084 07/19/06 11:21 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,049
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,049
Good post Bun Bun . How are you tonight ? I am over my food poision issue . I am multitasking since I missed some work time !


Let It Be , I live in a Yellow Submarine . SCCE
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  MooreTel, Professor Shadow, skip555 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
You don't know Jack!
by Professor Shadow - 07/12/20 02:57 AM
SL2100 night mode switching
by teleco - 07/11/20 04:19 PM
Suttle Apparatus Acquisition.
by dexman - 07/11/20 03:59 AM
Headset in-use relay
by SST - 07/08/20 06:33 PM
Partner ACS AA
by mtncomm1 - 07/08/20 04:18 PM
Who's Online Now
32 members (Skunky, Curlycord, hitechcomm, Touch Tone Tommy, Mercenary Roadie, hbiss, dexman, Bob3470, Yoda, mongo5150, Professor Shadow, newtecky, Shelbyrich, usedphones, justbill, EV607797, Avidcomm, pvj, Carl Navarro, nortelvoip, metelcom, Ruben, BTS01, teleco, ThePhoneConnection, Stix1, RATHER BE FISHING, dans, vicbob, KRRath, LoonCreek, Coral Tech), 460 guests, and 50 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,809
Posts636,355
Members49,311
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
hornet, LifesaverM, Old Dog No Tricks, Ryan Jones
Newest Members
StevCom, DaleG, jlspeck, Real Estating, ForestHillChurch
49310 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 23
dans 11
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners