Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#133459 05/09/07 08:39 AM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 172
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 172
Hey guys I have a customer with a call pilot 100 every 30days it asks him to change his password and he sometimes gets locked out of his messages can any ony tell me how to change that setting so it doesent ask him to change his password ? Thanks in advance

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 598
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 598
You need to go into the call pilot, via explorer, and change the COS for password expirary to 0.


Two girls later and I'm back.....lol...been gone a while but see same faces still here. Lol
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 172
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 172
can i do it through the phone ?

Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,685
Likes: 4
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,685
Likes: 4
No, you can not.


Marv CCNA, CTUB
TeleMarv Services (Retired)
Providing telecommunication solutions in Ottawa Canada since 1990
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 172
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 172
thank you guys


Moderated by  MooreTel, NTlayoff 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,737
Posts636,402
Members49,615
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
effedisk, hellbender, Pat Amaral, Zip
Newest Members
AMS Technology C, Chrontel, RonZ1971, Michael1948, lllDez
49,615 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
jsaad 7
Toner 6
Who's Online Now
1 members (Michael1948), 29 guests, and 23 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5