Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,310
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,310
This is a new one...I just set up a new MICS (7.1) w/PRI. Set public DN lengths appropriately (DN length = 10 for local calls, 11 = long-distance & 3 = 411/911). Absorb length "All". Dial "9" to get out. All outbound calls are working fine.

However, when I attempt to dial 411 I end up ringing 911...? call The po-po is getting mad They're sending someone over to give me some "stick time".

Never had this issue before. Any guess as to what I'm missing or does this sound like a carrier issue?

Note: As a test, I tried dialing "Intercom 9 & 1 1 to see if this would ring 911, but it didn't...call didn't go anywhere. Somehow the system is seeing the "4" as a "9"?


D. Ocean
Miami, FL
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,082
Moderator-Nortel
Offline
Moderator-Nortel
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,082
Are you dialing 411 or 9411 ?

Is '9' the only destination code in the system?


If CON is the opposite of PRO
Then what is the opposite of Progress?
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,473
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,473
Provider might have blocked 411 but they can't block 911 though that is why they might convert 411 to 911 which is suck.

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,310
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,310
Quote
Originally posted by NTlayoff:
Are you dialing 411 or 9411 ?

Is '9' the only destination code in the system?
Dialing "9" to get out, then "4-1-1". If I do the same with "9-9-1-1", it works (Dial "9", then "9-1-1"). If I dial "9", then "1-1", call goes nowhere (I thought, perhaps, the system was absorbing the "4"). Must dial 9-9-1-1 to get through to "911" operator.

If I remember correctly (I've been doing this remotely), Destination code is "9." (9/any). There may be other destination codes. I don't have the system in front of me. Have been programming this one remotely via an employee on-site.


D. Ocean
Miami, FL
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,310
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,310
Quote
Originally posted by vad60:
Provider might have blocked 411 but they can't block 911 though that is why they might convert 411 to 911 which is suck.
I can't imagine they would program something to auto-dial 9-1-1. It's one of the biggest (albeit the worst) providers in the area. I wouldn't be the only one with this problem and 9-1-1 would be overwhelmed with calls for directory assistance.


D. Ocean
Miami, FL
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,310
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,310
Side note: I have set these up 1000x before and never had this issue. However, this is the first time I've tried programming a system "blind" (my employee is on the other end of the phone following my instructions). It's different when you can't see what's what...


D. Ocean
Miami, FL
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
Since it is a PRi, have the provider climb on the circuit and see what is going out.

The tech at the switch can see digits, translations, etc.

We had a Samsung 500 that would not accept DIDs with a leading digit zero and the people had those numbers for years. The switch "translated" the dialed 0050 and sent the digits 1050 to the Samsung which worked fine.

If they can translate outgoing digits they should be able to translate incoming digits and make you crazy thinking 411 is 911. Easily could be a glitch in the switch, not the Norstar.


THE Bracha, old blond specialist in Rube Goldberg solutions.
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,310
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,310
Quote
Originally posted by Old blond hippity hopping Bunnie:
Easily could be a glitch in the switch, not the Norstar.
Yes, that's where I'm leaning, but I need to be sure that it's not me. I already had to "prove" to the tech [Linked Image from allakhazam.com] that the flashing green light on my T1 card was due to his (incomplete) connection. I always tell my employees "It's never the Nortel!"...


D. Ocean
Miami, FL
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,516
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,516
I also agree that the problem is most likely at the provider.

I'll try to help with some basic background from the translations side (at least with the 5ESS).

The way in which a call's digits across PRIs can be stripped and replaced by other digits depends on the direction of the call:

Calls outbound from a CO-
This is handled within the route index assigned to the PRI which handles the call "from" the CO.

Calls inbound to a CO-
This is handled by the IDP (individual dialing plan) assigned to the stand-alone PRI (or an entire PRI group) which provides the call to the CO.

With this problem occurring on a 3-digit call "inbound" to CO, it's very possible that the CO folks may have accidently assigned an incorrect IDP to the PRI's BRCS features list. IDPs are customized features that can be assigned to stand-alone PRIs (and PRI groups) that dictates and performs stripping (and replacing if needed) of certain digits inbound to the CO across that PRI. 5ESS IDPs are built by using multiple "ranges" to specially treat specific inbound digit patterns. If the CO uses a 5ESS, it sounds like the fault may be that either the IDP is assigned but not activated, has an incorrect range assigned for the inbound 411, or has an incorrect IDP assigned all together.

I remember an instance where an inbound PRI Group from a local PBX had an incorrectly assigned IDP. All calls placed to a specific local prefix were mistranslated, sending these calls flying halfway across the country.

Do you have access to, or is there any possible way that a PRI tester (Sunset, etc) can be setup to place a 411 test call directly across the PRI?

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,310
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,310
Quote
Originally posted by 5Etek-mike:
I also agree that the problem is most likely at the provider.

Do you have access to, or is there any possible way that a PRI tester (Sunset, etc) can be setup to place a 411 test call directly across the PRI?
Thanks for the informative post. I do not have access to that equipment. When I am able to get on-site, I will call in a trouble-ticket and have the carrier send out a tech.


D. Ocean
Miami, FL
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  MooreTel, NTlayoff 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Most Recent 5 Post
Saying good by to all the rest of my toshiba
by SSPhone - 05/07/21 04:28 PM
IP Office 500 V2 crash
by Mercenary Roadie - 05/07/21 08:24 AM
Random characters on screen
by dougster - 05/06/21 06:49 PM
How to subscribe to get full access.
by Ruben - 05/05/21 09:29 PM
OS UNI Card Version Question
by RM SYSTEMS - 05/04/21 04:53 PM
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums93
Topics94,377
Posts639,660
Members49,454
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
KWH, PulseDial
Newest Members
Andrea Sau, eos90066, Sonic, ERA, Mackino
49,454 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
defencebyte.com
Antiransomware
Global Test Supply
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 48
pvj 18
Ruben 15
bditech 11
Phone.com 300x250
300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud
www.aweber.com
landing page builder
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
NordVPN
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
31 members (sundance, nortelvoip, newtecky, BobRobert, dexman, pvj, Yoda, Mercenary Roadie, CyberLaw, jeffmoss26, nameless, JBean3329, Touch Tone Tommy, Curlycord, Bushmills, Carl Navarro, Professor Shadow, SSPhone, KRRath, Ruben, justbill, gelehu, dougster, Biztel Cuban Okie Tech, hitechcomm, mongo5150, www.telcom1.net, Skunky, MooreTel, metelcom, RonP), 459 guests, and 83 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
vpnproxymaster
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners
landing page builder Antiransomware 300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud