Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#145093 11/10/09 08:17 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 114
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 114
I have a client who wants to upgrade to a PRI t1.
Cheaper Dial Tone and add DID's

I wonder if I will have issues when I upgrade?
....Like: suddenly the VM needs upgrade, and I missed it, didn't quote it. I like to get it right....not go back asking for $$

Currently, Fiber MICS, T1R1, 30nCG13NAT.
2-0x16, 1-12x0, NAM: Copper 2.2. (?!?!?!)

I thought T1R1 would handle a T1, but I would need 4.0 (4.1?) or better for PRI. True?
THEN would that force an upgrade of the VM NAM?

I am worrying about MICS s/w versus NAM s/w.
Does that make sense? What level needs what level? help

Lastly, the MICS has a 6 port Fiber, NON-Combo.
In the past I have just gone Fiber Combo, is the Services Card a good product, used with my regular Fiber card?

Need:
T1 Card, Key enable, Services card (or Combo),

Add?: Software, Upgrade Nam

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,610
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,610
T1R1 handles T....but not PRI

NAM should go up to 4.1
MICS should go to 6.1MR or 7.1 (best)

You should also quote to re-program system from scratch rather than upgrade from so far back.
This way you have a clean slate.


=---()))))))))---=
www.curlycord.com
[Linked Image from telcopc.ca]
Toronto, Canada




Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 114
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 114
Thanks

I think from Scratch IS the way, your right,

Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,685
Likes: 4
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,685
Likes: 4
Your minimum requirements for MICS with PRI is: 4.1

Minimum for NAM: 4.0

However MICS 4.1 and PRI are hit and miss.

Mimimum I would go for the MICS with PRI is 6.1MR. NAM will need to be 4.1 to be compatible.

Agree with Curly... program from scratch.


Marv CCNA, CTUB
TeleMarv Services (Retired)
Providing telecommunication solutions in Ottawa Canada since 1990
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 75
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 75
Target lines on 4.1 you will have problems I would do what Telemarv said.

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,610
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,610
Yes dont go that route! thats why I didnt even mention 4.1 (KSU) because of the issues.


=---()))))))))---=
www.curlycord.com
[Linked Image from telcopc.ca]
Toronto, Canada




Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 114
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 114
Finally went:
MICS 6.1, Combo Card
NAM 4.1
PRI,

GREAT COMPATIBILITY

Thanks to ALL


Moderated by  MooreTel, NTlayoff 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,879
Posts637,002
Members49,673
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
briguy, Eddie Mac, Georg Andreev, kate85034, rodapech, Stormin Protection
Newest Members
APInc, m1cashman, jonnycom, XJR9000, BitBang
49,673 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 10
teleco 6
jsaad 5
dexman 5
Shahza 4
tim10 4
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 91 guests, and 20 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5