Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
PRI Enabler, Key Code
#145669 01/26/10 10:14 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 114
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 114
I am upgrading an existing client to PRI, for DID's. It requires me to go from t1/r1 old software to something new, 6.1 or better.

That will force me to use a NAM II, 4.1 voicemail, replace 2.2 copper VM.

I am treating it as a new install and programming, not upgrading. Start from scratch.
Because it is existing, I will change the ports to match the jumpers to the phones.

I picked up an existing MICS with T1/PRI card , enabled, and Combo card.
For whatever reason, it defaulted programing by the time it got to me. Whatever.
I couldn't find any PRI features. Also the phones had line 1&2 on them, just like default.

It did keep its SYS ID, I checked with the seller. A new one was Not generated.
Like everyone says here, Write Down The Code !!!
I guess you guys say that 'cuz no one does. No one did here either help

I am really confused. Most techs I talked with haven't had to deal with this.
THANKS

Nortel Equipment and Telephones
Re: PRI Enabler, Key Code
#145670 01/27/10 02:33 AM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,681
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,681
Yes the enabler code can be recovered.


Marv CCNA, CTUB
TeleMarv Services
Providing telecommunication solutions in Ottawa Canada since 1990
http://www.telemarv.ca
Specializing in Nortel Norstar, BCM and Allworx VoIP Servers
Re: PRI Enabler, Key Code
#145671 02/03/10 09:10 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 114
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 114
Thanks Marv

Marv referred me to another guy also.

I'll start another FYI post because No One was ab

Re: PRI Enabler, Key Code
#145672 02/03/10 09:11 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 114
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 114
No One was able to help, SOMETHING is going on??

Re: PRI Enabler, Key Code
#145673 02/25/10 08:32 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 114
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 114
I ended up buying a new enabler code.
No one was ever able to retrieve it.

People may want to keep in mind that Norstar access may become sketchy. Although getting
the new code from a 3rd party was easy.

Either the used KSU was hosed or the guy that sold it to me was misstaken about PRI, must have neen a T1 only KSU.

Thanks ALL for your help

Re: PRI Enabler, Key Code
#145674 02/25/10 12:13 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 598
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 598
If the keycodes you had in the system were not generated from Nortel, meaning off channel or grey market, getting these keycodes reissued isnt very easy. Thats why keycodes should always be purchased through the proper channels....


Two girls later and I'm back.....lol...been gone a while but see same faces still here. Lol
Re: PRI Enabler, Key Code
#145675 02/25/10 01:31 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 114
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 114
multiple 5 cents

You can't get grey market enabler codes.
They ARE generated via Nortel.

Unless you're saying an unscrupulous dealer, in which case they are still gemnerated by Nortel and are keyed to your SYSID, which belongs to one
system.

Re: PRI Enabler, Key Code
#145676 02/25/10 02:09 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 598
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 598
Well I do know that 3 Nortel Keycode Generators and a certain amount of paper went missing over the past few years at Nortel.....

If your SYSID never changed its just a paper trail to chase.

I was more referring to, I have taken over a few clients, the system lost all the programming, no documentation on the keycodes. I tried to find them from the Nortel website, no record of them.

All systems we sell, I am able to go to the website and pull all the old keycodes, was all.

This was not meant to mean you were selling greymarket stuff, sorry if that is how it came accross.....


Two girls later and I'm back.....lol...been gone a while but see same faces still here. Lol
Re: PRI Enabler, Key Code
#145677 02/26/10 12:24 PM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
what is the a Norstar, BCM or Option. I can get the key code on the BCM or Option. Let me know If I can help


DataElectric-Avaya/FL Gov, SMB & Enterprised Partner
www.edataelect.com

Moderated by  MooreTel, NTlayoff, Z-man 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
Kari's Law and Basic Edition
by ffej010 - 07/04/20 07:10 PM
IP Office 500 vers. 9.0
by Telesystems - 07/03/20 05:27 PM
Merlin Legebd
by hitechcomm - 07/03/20 08:35 AM
Who's Online Now
27 members (RATHER BE FISHING, KRRath, dans, hbiss, Touch Tone Tommy, Memphisribs, justbill, pvj, Curlycord, Silversam, nonameyet, Real Estating, Edward_, dexman, nfcphoneman, Daniel, Greg Ercolano, Yoda, metelcom, Carl Navarro, Skunky, newtecky, nortelvoip, EV607797, Mercenary Roadie, [email protected], Bob3470), 324 guests, and 61 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,797
Posts636,283
Members49,308
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
aakyuz83, Adam S., Modena
Newest Members
Real Estating, ForestHillChurch, Rick95, Byron Stewart, chad1003
49307 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 23
dans 10
Ruben 9
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners